New York Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I followed the directions that CDPEFFER posted below. I added one egg at a time and I only used 1 3/4 tbsp of cornstarch. Bake at 400 for 10 minutes then without opening the oven, reduce to 200 for 45 min. Turn oven off and let it sit in oven for 1-2 hours until oven is cool. I leave my cheesecake in the springform pan overnight in the fridge so it's easier to maneuver around. It's also easier to remove from the springform pan the next day. This recipe is great. This is the best cheesecake I have ever eaten!!!! I make it for ALL of our family events!! Everyone loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
OY VEY!!! best ever and my first time..read reviews and did this; mixed until JUST mixed. used 'bath'. 350 degrees for 65 minutes. beautiful. left it in the oven with the door slighlty ajar for about an hour. no cracks,no brownage(?)well, you know. perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
This is the BEST cheesecake I have EVER tasted in my entire life. I wish I could eat it every night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Great cheesecake. Very creamy, and not to sweet. I did find that the top did get a little burnt, but the taste was not affected at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This recipe is ok, but not the best. The best New York Cheesecake recipe I've every made is from Cook's Illustrated Magazine. They baked over 200 cheesecakes to find the perfect formula. New York Cheesecake is supposed to have a deep nut brown crust on the top, no pale cheesecakes qualify for the New Yorker, and you can't get the brown crust in a water bath. The best baking temp and time according to Cook's Ilustrated is: 500 degrees for 10 minutes then 200 degrees for at least 90 minutes, until the center of the cheesecake reaches 150 degrees (yes, use a themometer for this). If it goes beyond 160, it will be overcooked and it will crack. A brown crust on top is what you want on a New York Cheesecake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This was wonderful and very easy. Not a crack in sight. Used a water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Wow! Just like cheesecake in NYC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Absolutely excellent recipe. I started it at 400 degrees for the first 10 min then w/ out opening oven door turnd it down to 225 for 45 minutes. Then left it in the oven for about 1.5 hours. No crack, just rich and creamy, I loved it- everyone in my family did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I followed many of the tips given by other users like baking at 350 deg., adding vanilla and adding 1/4 c sugar to make it sweeter. The cheese cake was perfect except where is the flavor in this cheesecake??? I topped it with cherries and that helped but this otherwide perfect cheesecake lacks flavor. I would love to try it again but somehow jazz up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Awesome recipe, i used some of the reviews and made some changes. I zested an orange right over the mixing bowl and it gave it a great fresh taste. And i also baked it in a water bath, my only problem was that i didnt have more cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INJUNCHEF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomfret, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States