New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Great recipes, except I used stewed tomatoes. I've always had for the past 40 yrs stewed tomatoes with black-eyed peas. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Went by the recipe and tasted as I cooked. It was VERY bland so I added a beef bouillon cube and a bay leaf. I will buy some creole seasoning to try next time and maybe some bacon. My husband really liked it and for black eyed peas this was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
The recipe itself is a decent one, but I found out that I don't care for the taste of black-eyed peas. I threw the ingredients into a slow cooker (which I left going for most of the day), and instead of pureeing a can of tomatoes I just added diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Great recipe. I soaked the beans over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Tasty and easy to make. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I made this recipe for New Years, and served with cornbread. The leftovers were even better! Even my kiddos ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This turned out surprisingly well, especially with a few changes and additions. Soaked the beans overnight and drain. Used crumbled bacon (14 strips) instead of ham. Used 1/4 tsp. ground black pepper and omitted the salt due to using canned beef broth. Added 1/2 tsp. liquid smoke. Added 1/2 tsp. dried basil, few shakes of dried parsley and 1 bay leaf. I needed only 4 cups liquid (14.5 oz can beef broth and 1 1/2 cans of water instead of the ridiculous amount of water called for the recipe. Used minced garlic instead of powder. Used dried minced onions. Used Italian diced tomatoes and didn't puree them. Turned out AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Good recipe but I had to spice it up. Used Rotel, a big ham bone, part chicken broth/part water, fresh garlic & other spices. Cooked in crock pot for 10 hours. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
There wasn't much flavor in this recipe. Maybe instead of using water to fill the pot, you should use chicken broth, or bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I wanted to rate this four stars instead of five because it did need alot of tweeking.I rated it five because I don't want anyone to pass it by. I took the suggestions of others who rated the recipe and made the following changes. I used chicken broth instead of water and used about 8 cups, which is about half what the recipe called for. That amount would have been entirely too much. I used rotels (original).I used one onion instead of two,more garlic,and cajun seasoning to taste. I used diced ham but threw in a hamhock while cooking for flavor. It turned out wonderful.I made a pot for home and one for work.Alot of people don't like black-eyed peas, but everyone loved them. It's a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anadarko, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Schertz, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States