New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is a slamm'in black-eyed pea recipe! My guy, who hates black-eyed peas was persuaded to 'just give it a try' ... and now he is requesting a big pot to be made ... do I have to say he LOVES this recipe?!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Just didn't care for it. It wasn't that tasty to me but I can't pinpoint what was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Tried this recipe today. a little after New Years but better late than never. Basic recipe was a little bland. Added a bay leaf, some creole seasoning and 1 can of chicken broth. this helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
made these last year for new year's and they were so delicious! the whole family loved them and wanted to know what i did. yummy! only change i made was to use petite diced tomatoes instead of whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I don't even like black-eyed peas, but I loved these! Only thing I did different was used a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles to add a little spice. I didn't blend them. AWESOME PEAS! Next time will make with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Great Recipe! I added a couple of teaspoons of Tabasco Sauce to give the lucky peas some kick. jpmccn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpmccn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Terrific recipe. Everyone liked it. I used a smoked ham hock instead of the chopped cooked ham. I used 2 minced cloves of fresh garlic. I used a can of Original Rotel Tomatoes and Peppers, with the juice, just straight from the can instead of pureed tomatoes. I put all the ingredients into a 5 quart pot, and then added water to a depth 1 inch above the ingredients. Then I brought it to a boil, and reduced to simmer for about 2 and one half hours. The black-eyed peas were dried, but quite fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia Deaton Glover
Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle David Lehman
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Delicious. I started with the (rinsed, sorted and soaked peas, a ham bone, 4 Bay leaves, one onion cut in 4 pieces and enough water to cover (about 6 cups) in the crockpot. When peas were almost tender, I discarded bay leaves & onion & ham bones (after saving the meat, chopping, and returning to the pot). Then I added 1 cup raw brown rice, about 1/2 cup chopped green peppers, 1 finely chopped (and seeded) jalapeno pepper, 2 Tbsp minced garlic instead of the garlic powder, 2 Tbsp finely chopped fresh parsley, 1 Tbsp dried basi (didn't have any fresh), and the tomatoes. When rice was tender, my version of Hoppin' John was ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle David Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is a 5 star recipe that is easily tweaked to make it perfect for your family. Until now, I've only ever taken a spoonful of black-eyed peas on New Years (just in case there really is something to the good luck tradition). However, I'm eating these peas regularly now. Following this recipe produces a great dish. Tweaked for my taste buds and to keep it quick and easy, I used 1 undrained (15.5 oz) can of Goya BlackEyed Peas, 1/2 of a 16 oz package of Eckridge Smoked Sausage, 1 (14.5 oz) can of DelMonte Diced Tomatoes with Garlic & Onion, and 1 medium green pepper, chopped. I simmered these ingredients for 5 minutes, then served over Uncle Ben's Ready Rice Whole Grain Brown which cooks in the microwave in 90 minutes. Deelish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was a winner at our 1/1/10 dinner! I added Rotel tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes and a ham hock instead of the cooked ham. I was very pleased and my guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Clement

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States