New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
easiest and best bep I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
The combination just did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
The only major change I made to this was I used smoked ham hocks, which I cooked for an hour just covered in water, instead of cook ham. Next time I will try the petite diced tomatoes as the regular diced was a little too big. Cooked the onion and a couple of cloves of garlic in a saute pan before adding to the broth. I did strain the fat from the broth (Thank God for my Oxo fat separator!). Added everything to the pot along with a 1/2 tsp of my Dad's creole seasoning. Did need to add some salt at the end of cooking. Since I soaked the peas overnight, I cooked this for about 5 hours on low with the lid slightly off for the extra liquid to evaporate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My husband, who usually doesn't like black-eyed peas, ate 3 helpings! We loved this recipe. I used a can of diced tomatoes and a can of chicken broth replacing some of the water. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PSBIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I cheated and used frozen black-eyed peas. I also used less ham, fresh garlic and shallots instead of onions. I LOVED the addition of tomatoes. I'm usually not a big fan of black-eyed peas but make them because it's a New Year's tradition, but this recipe made them the best thing on our plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Great with chopped sasages too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I added Rotel tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes and a ham hock instead of the cooked ham, Was okay but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Next time I will soak my beans overnight because they took forever to soften up. But once they did, yummy! I had left over pork loin that I threw in instead of ham and that worked great. Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is a slamm'in black-eyed pea recipe! My guy, who hates black-eyed peas was persuaded to 'just give it a try' ... and now he is requesting a big pot to be made ... do I have to say he LOVES this recipe?!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Just didn't care for it. It wasn't that tasty to me but I can't pinpoint what was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States