New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
a very nice simple recipe for black eyed peas. i have to agree that the water amount is a bit off, but i had started this quite early so i just let it boil down. i think the northerners have to remember, black eyed peas is a simple recipes. sometimes you just throw a ham hock in or a bell pepper, but it's not a dish with huge tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
First time I've eaten black eyed peas at New Year's and liked them! In fact, we ran out of peas and didn't have the usual uneaten leftovers. I'm not a fan of black eyed peas, but this time I enjoyed them. I didn't add the tomato because of our own tastes, but still great. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIET310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
I thought this was really great on New Year's Day. I used country style pork ribs instead of ham that I pre-cooked in the pressure cooker, and omitted tomatoes. Also used fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I futzed with this one, and it turned out great. I started by boiling the beans separately while I sauteed the following together: bacon (to replace the ham), onions, garlic, 2 seeded and sliced jalapenos, and a palmful of sage leaves. Once that was soft I drained & rinsed the beans and added them to the pot. I added the canned tomatoes (roughly chopped) and covered with vegetable stock. That just simmered for about an hour (maybe less), and it turned out brilliantly. Coupled with cornbread, my fiancee had his first true southern meal this New Year's Day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Ingraham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
This was delicious. Used crushed garlic and petite tomotoes with onions. If you don't like it soupy just strain the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxon Hill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sheffield Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
It was good. I tweaked it the second time and added chopped bell pepper and celery to the onions, sauteed them in oil, then added the drained, cooked beans and ham. I then poured tomato juice over it instead of blending tomatoes, and used fresh garlic instead of powder. I then added some creole seasonings to taste. Really good over rice and with sour cream, chopped green onions, shredded cheese and corn muffins on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
With a tiny bit of tweeking, this recipe is excellent. Use fresh garlic in place of the powder, and make sure to add salt and pepper to taste. Wonderful served over freshly baked cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
This recipie is a great starter but I used MUCH less water, fresh Garlic (not powder), and personally, I like to soak overnight or par boil the peas before I cook 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This was by far the worst direction provided for any recipe. Did anyone that has already rated this actually read the directions? It tells you to use a 8-quart pot and fill it ¾ full of water. That’s right 24 cups of water. This gives you SOUP. If you cut the amount of water down to 8 cups this will make a nice pot of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
These were the best black eyed peas I've had. The only change I made to the recipe was to use petite diced tomatoes and plenty of real garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States