New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Pretty much a traditional recipe. I'm from the south and my family always cooked/simmered the onion(s) and a piece of smoked shank together, w/water to cover of course, until the meat fell off. Adding a little crushed garlic, and fresh ground black pepper. After soaking the Peas, over night or quick method, rinse and add to onion/shank broth. Simmer on back of stove while fixing rest of meal. NO TOMATOES...YUCH. Add salt if needed and serve with rice and corn bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made this tonight with the thought that it might taste better the second day. It actually tastes VERY GOOD tonight...can't wait to eat it tomorrow. I would give it 5 stars but I had to make some modifications due to what I had on hand. I used 2 cans of rinsed black eyed peas (what husband brought home one day last week), about a cup of dry vermouth for flavor (didn't want to use chicken or beef stock for the "luck" reasons stated by a previous reviewer...I obviously used canned peas, though), 5 cloves of garlic, over 2 cups of cubed smoked ham steak, a fair amount of Cajun seasoning, about 4oz of diced green chilies, and about a 1/2c of ham drippings from the Christmas ham for added pork flavor. I used diced tomatoes and did not puree them. I also did not add any additional water. Again, we are looking forward to eating it tomorrow. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Soup was extremely watery and lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I love this recipe! I make it around 7:00 pm on New Year's Eve and then let it simmer for about 3 hours. It's my breakfast for New Year's Day and usualy my dinner too. I sometimes make cornbread to go with it. We love it and it's so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
It was pretty good.. My family isn't a big fan of black eyed peas... so it wasn't a huge hit. But I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kj421

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I made this on New Years at the last minute and I am so glad I did! I have made it a few times since and will continue to all year long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is by far the best black-eyed peas I have ever had. My family absolutely loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
These are quite tasty but I do have a few changes. I like my peas to be an almost creamy texture so I omitted the tomatoes. I used one ham hock that I made several cuts into, half a link of smoked sausage, one onion, garlic powder, onion powder, chile sauce and chicken broth as the liquid. I let these simmer for a couple of hours and OH MY they are good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This is a really good Black-eyed peas recipe. The second time I made this, I added spinach during the last 5 minutes of cooking - sooo good! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pineville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Never cooked black eyed peas before but was informed I needed to do so for New years day. It came out very good. I liked it with Franks Hot sauce on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cullinanpat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States