New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I'm a firefighter and I decided to cook today and sticking to tradition we had black-eyed peas and cabbage. This reciepe along with another fireman's pot of cabbage was a hit!!! I followed the reciepe with just a few modifications. I presoaked the peas for about 6 hours. I crumbled up 7-8 leftover strips of bacon from breakfast and I used fresh garlic. I used a can of Italian diced tomatoes and sprinkled a little cajun seasoning in for an added boost. If I can do this anyone can. LOL! BRAVO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireHam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancleave, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
HAPPY NEW YEAR! Liked the idea of adding canned tomatoes in this recipe. It was more soupy than my old recipe but was a nice change and didn't dilute from the flavor. Only change made was to add a few dashes of liquid smoke. My kids say it makes it taste like I cooked it over a fire all day. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERARN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Interlachen, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was my first time to cook black-eyed peas, and my husband (who doesn't like black-eyed peas) loved it! I added two cans of un-pureed Rotel tomatoes for spice. I'll cook this again...and not just on New Year's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Very good but needs some more flavor. I used two cans of stock and two cans of black eyed peas instead of dried. I didn't add quite as much ham, maybe only half. The thing that did spice it up was a small can (I believe 8 oz.) of crushed tomatoes and chili peppers.(The kind you would put in a salsa) It added quite a zing but was delicious. I used that instead of the whole tomatoes. Kept the onions, too. It was still a bit "soupy" but was good. Definitely needed corn bread as others suggested. Made it with Golden Sweet Cornbread from this site. Very good meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Didn't love this recipe. Way too much water and the addition of the tomatoes tasted weird. I'll stick with my stand-by of the bag recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I have acquired several bags of blackeyed peas, and I've been looking for ways to use them. For this dish, I doubled the recipe, presoaked my peas, and reduced the water (just enough to cover). I found the flavor lacking, so I added some Creole seasoning and a little barbecue sauce and brown sugar, so the end result was very similar to baked beans, only spicier. This dish was pretty good, though not quite as good as "real" baked beans. It is, however, a good way to use up extra blackeyed peas. I rated it a 3 because the recipe did require quite a bit of tweaking (especially with regard to water content) in order to yield good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
When i initially made this, i didn't care for it (way too much water, and a bit more onions than i like). However, the next day i had some for lunch cold from the fridge and it was soo good! I was actually craving it for days after. Cold is the way to go!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I've been making black eyed peas for years and never thought of using tomato in the recipe. I used a can of Petite Diced Tomato with onions and garlic and I always soak my beans overnight. They plumped beautifully and withstood my stirring and checking and sampling. I will use this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
I rate this recipe a 4 because I had to add a lot of ingredients to it to make it my own. We (my fiance and I), made a double batch, and we added 2 bell peppers, celery, basil, parsley, 4 bayleaves, and lots of Tony Satcherins seasoning. It turned out absolutely amazing!!!! I will be making this recipe every new years now. We made "Grandma's Buttermilk Cornbread" and "Famous Fried Cabbage", also from this site... and might I say... the whole meal was rated a ten!!! Everyone raved!!! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Wonderful recipe, I added some red pepper flakes, I definately will make this throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States