New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
There wasn't much flavor in this recipe. Maybe instead of using water to fill the pot, you should use chicken broth, or bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I wanted to rate this four stars instead of five because it did need alot of tweeking.I rated it five because I don't want anyone to pass it by. I took the suggestions of others who rated the recipe and made the following changes. I used chicken broth instead of water and used about 8 cups, which is about half what the recipe called for. That amount would have been entirely too much. I used rotels (original).I used one onion instead of two,more garlic,and cajun seasoning to taste. I used diced ham but threw in a hamhock while cooking for flavor. It turned out wonderful.I made a pot for home and one for work.Alot of people don't like black-eyed peas, but everyone loved them. It's a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anadarko, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Schertz, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Really good recipe. I soaked the black eyed peas over night. I am from the south so I started with a roux. I just added an 1/8 of a cup of flour to the oil. Got it to a nice brown over medium heat. Then added onions. I used fresh garlic, about 2 cloved minced. Added ham, added some water slowly then peas also a bone from the left over ham I used. I didn't have whole tomatos so I used a can of diced. We like the tomato chunk so I didn't liquify them. Oh yeah, lot's of fresh cracked pepper! It was really good. Thank for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Delish! Used dried onions, as my kids shot all my cooking onions off in the potato canon. Also used chicken broth rather than water... and added some red pepper flakes. I soaked the beans overnight, then rinsed and just covered with chicken broth to cook. Added a little water as needed during cooking. Left out the tomatoes entirely to get a more traditional flavor. But LOVED the dish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is a really good base recipe for blackeyed peas. I took someone else suggestion and added Itlian diced tomatoes, 2 garlic cloves, seasoning salt, pepper and 7 slices of bacon crumbled. All of the other ingredients I stuck with the recipe. This was really good with the cabbage roll casserole and carrot souffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Varnado Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nederland, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
These were very tasty and I would make again. I did add in a packet of ham seasoning for some extra flavor though. My family really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
great recipe, although i didn't follow it exactly. i used deli ham, canned beans, and chicken stock and left out the tomatoes. super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
great recipe, thanks for sharing. I like my food spicy and added lots of crushed garlic, 2 bay leaves and about 3/4 teaspoon chili pepper flakes. I also used beef instead of pork and added chopped celery stalks about 10 minutes before the beans were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Maybe it's just me but I did not like the tomatos added to this dish. I guess I prefer the southern style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States