New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Really good recipe. I soaked the black eyed peas over night. I am from the south so I started with a roux. I just added an 1/8 of a cup of flour to the oil. Got it to a nice brown over medium heat. Then added onions. I used fresh garlic, about 2 cloved minced. Added ham, added some water slowly then peas also a bone from the left over ham I used. I didn't have whole tomatos so I used a can of diced. We like the tomato chunk so I didn't liquify them. Oh yeah, lot's of fresh cracked pepper! It was really good. Thank for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Delish! Used dried onions, as my kids shot all my cooking onions off in the potato canon. Also used chicken broth rather than water... and added some red pepper flakes. I soaked the beans overnight, then rinsed and just covered with chicken broth to cook. Added a little water as needed during cooking. Left out the tomatoes entirely to get a more traditional flavor. But LOVED the dish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is a really good base recipe for blackeyed peas. I took someone else suggestion and added Itlian diced tomatoes, 2 garlic cloves, seasoning salt, pepper and 7 slices of bacon crumbled. All of the other ingredients I stuck with the recipe. This was really good with the cabbage roll casserole and carrot souffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nederland, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
These were very tasty and I would make again. I did add in a packet of ham seasoning for some extra flavor though. My family really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
great recipe, although i didn't follow it exactly. i used deli ham, canned beans, and chicken stock and left out the tomatoes. super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
great recipe, thanks for sharing. I like my food spicy and added lots of crushed garlic, 2 bay leaves and about 3/4 teaspoon chili pepper flakes. I also used beef instead of pork and added chopped celery stalks about 10 minutes before the beans were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Maybe it's just me but I did not like the tomatos added to this dish. I guess I prefer the southern style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I still haven't met anyone who actually likes Black Eyed Peas but everyone at the party ate at least a bowl of these and seemed to like them. I thought the flavor was rich and was impressed by the ease of preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I brought these over to my mother's on new Year's Day in keeping with tradition and they were a big hit. I too soaked the beans over night first. I didn't have any leftover ham around so I got 6/10 lb. of thick sliced ham at the deli counter which was just shy of 2 cups. I used 1 large shallot and 1 small/medium sized onion instead of 2 onions (that's what was in the pantry). I had about 1 1/2 cup of chicken stock leftover in the fridge and used that in place of some water and sprinkled in some cayenne pepper. I think next time I will try not pureeing the tomatoes, adding less water, add 1 or 2 chopped carrots and possibly some green peas just before serving. I think I will also try them in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States