New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I used this as more of a base recipe because I discovered I didn't have some of the ingredients. I ended up using 1 can of black-eyed peas, 1 can of great northern beans, and 2 cans of stewed tomatoes. I pureed 1 can and left the other chunky. Put this all in my crockpot with the chopped ham, adding a hamhock as well for more flavor. I also added 2 cloves of garlic (chopped). Cooked on low for 5 hours. My fiance LOVED this. I obviously changed things a bit, but thank you SO much for the recipe or I wouldn't have had a clue what to do with black-eyed peas. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This recipe is great!! I had never made black-eyed peas before and thought I'd give it a try for some good luck this new year, and I'm glad I did!! I did make some very minor changes: I just chopped up a can of whole tomatoes as I didn't want to have to clean my food processor. :) I threw in a ham hock in place of the chopped ham and I found it gave the soup a great smoked flavor and yielded some meat I chopped and added later. Instead of using any chicken stock, I just covered the beans with water and threw in 3 chicken boullion cubes. I also like mine with a couple of dashes of Tobasco. Anyway, it turned out fantastic with it being low in calories, this will definitely be one I make over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was very easy to make and quite dee-lish! I used a smoked turkey leg, minced garlic, garlic powder, chicken broth, and a dash of liquid smoke, all thrown into the crock pot and this is just perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neicy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
my husband does not like black eyed peas, so I was trying to find something that he might eat for New Year's Day. He loved this!! I took the short cut and used 2 cans of peas, one had bacon with it. I sauteed the onions and ham in a small amount of bacon grease then added everything else....also used diced tomatoes. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watonga, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Delicious! I made this for dinner today with cornbread & coleslaw. Yum, yum. This is good also with rice. I didn't use canned tomatoes, I just chopped up one of my husband's fresh tomatoes.(I live in Fla.) Great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Simple and delicious. I cheated and used two cans of black eyed peas instead of the fresh, and used beef brith instead of water. I threw everything into a pot and let it simmer for 20 minutes. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Great flavor, but our FRESH peas were tough. Not sure why, but we also added diced and seeded jalapeno for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I make a similiar dish cooking the peas with onions, seasoning salt, pepper and smoked pork neck bones instead of ham. Serve over white or brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Gave it 5 stars because it's a good traditional recipe. The recipe is silent here, but you must always pick, soak and rinse the dried peas. If you make it more traditional by using smoked hog jowles, ham hocks, or smoked pork neck bones, instead of ham, it'll taste even better. We use the water fom cooking the pork for the liquid in this dish. Also, our preference is for a can of Rotel tomatoes, drained, instead of the purred tomatoes. There are several DO NOT's if you want to keep this dish "lucky" 1. Do not add chicken stock, as chickens and other fowl move backward as they eat. 2. Do not use beef, as a cow will move forward, sideward and backwards as it grazes, whereas, a pig always "pushes" forward as it eats. 3. Do not use canned peas as they've already swelled, so your luck will not "swell" as it will with dried peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
701 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Lake, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Gaylesville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was a great recipe, I have another Black-Eyed Peas recipe that my husband likes better though due to his love of spicy food...Instead of ham, try Jimmy Dean spicy breakfast sausage and rotel with the black-eyed peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States