New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I opted out of using the tomatoes. Used 1 14oz can of chicken broth & 2 cans of water with plenty of Tony Chachere's Creole Seasoning. The best I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pompanogirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was absolutely excellent!! I added a tablespoon of cumin & black pepper for a kick. Will definitely make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Great cold day meal. This was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Instead of water I used beef broth. I put in some fried bacon and some cubed ham and I cooked all of this in my slow cooker on high for 4 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Easy tne very good. Thought it could use some hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
So good I plan to make it later on during the year. One hint I used a ham bone and added sweet basil. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyLane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
In the past I have not been a fan of Black-Eyed Peas. I made this on New Years Day for an extended family dinner. I followed the recipe and they turned out awesome. Even family members like myself, who do not like black-eyed peas, liked this recipe. Wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Okay, this was just fantastic and was a huge hit by my family and relatives. I made just a few changes. First, I added two cups of cooked chicken and spinach sausage to make it with less fat. Then, I used two vegetable broth cubes. I will most likely make this again because this recipe was simply wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surpriseitswendy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is the best black eyed pea recipe I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I made this in a slow cooker. Came out perfect! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenElyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States