New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This was by far the worst direction provided for any recipe. Did anyone that has already rated this actually read the directions? It tells you to use a 8-quart pot and fill it ¾ full of water. That’s right 24 cups of water. This gives you SOUP. If you cut the amount of water down to 8 cups this will make a nice pot of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
These were the best black eyed peas I've had. The only change I made to the recipe was to use petite diced tomatoes and plenty of real garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
Flavor was a little bland. But I'm from South Carolina so I may be bias.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Please! Dont add the powder! Use real Garlic...and the tomatoes have to much acid for me, so I use a tiny bit of brown sugar mixed in..not much. or use a bit of orange juice from a fresh orange..not much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelliegirl21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
Great recipe. This was a good way to use leftover ham from Christmas. I used fresh garlic instead of the powder and canned diced tomatoes instead of whole. Family loved it, a new family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernAloha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
Great recipe. Didn't appeal to the kids much, but the grown ups liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochran, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I love this recipe, and if you add some grated coconut you're in for a treat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
DELICIOUS !!! If eating these peas doesn't bring me luck this year I don't know what will... I only made a few changes: I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of liquefying a can of whole ones, substituted a tsp. of minced garlic for the powder, and used one onion instead of two. We ate these with barbequed ribs but the peas were a meal in themselves. Next time we will just have some rice on the side... This recipe helped me create an awesome New Year's tradition in my house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
My husband is from the South and wants black-eyed peas every year and I never knew how to make them (except from a can!). He LOVED these and said he could eat them every day. I even liked them and I'm not fond of black-eyed peas, so easy, too!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
New Years Day Black- eyed Peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States