New Years Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
hahaha its been so long since i submitted this recipe i forgot it. was updating my profile & found it and fixed it ..even tho not new years is still wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Actually made this last week just for something different-turned out pretty good! I used a chuck of leftover ham instead of the jowl but that was the only change. Will try adding cabbage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Always trust your instincts! A TABLESPOON of garlic powder? For two cans of peas? The result is inedible; and we like garlic. I'm trying to salvage it by adding more ingredients, but I have a feeling I'll be throwing it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
My family loved these. I left the rice and cheese on the side for so that people could add them if they wanted too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This recipe was a hit on New Year's Day since we have to serve Black-Eyed Peas for my Texas family. I did not have sausage or a "ham hock" but used thick sliced cooked bacon and that was awesome. I did not add rice or cheese since we have so much other food to serve that day (pork roast, mashed potatoes, green beans, etc.) I cooked it for a long time and the beans got very soft and tender. By the way I used a whole big bag of FROZEN Black-eyed Peas, easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
One of the best black-eyed pea recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Very good indeed and recipe not difficult to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made this recipie and just loved it!! I am a Southern gal and needed to make my Black-Eyed peas for the New Year. I used Bushes black-eyed peas, less butter and added a little cream cheese...not too much. It was great. I am not a fan of bell peppers, so I left them out. I highly recomend this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was a good and quick recipe! I ended up using a third can of peas, added a bay leaf and left the rice and cheese to the side so you could add as much as you like. We ate the whole pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Neptune Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My husband is not a fan of black-eyed peas, but he ate every bite on his plate. Thank you for sharing a wonderful recipe to start the new year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States