New Years Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
hahaha its been so long since i submitted this recipe i forgot it. was updating my profile & found it and fixed it ..even tho not new years is still wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
My family loved these. I left the rice and cheese on the side for so that people could add them if they wanted too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This recipe was a hit on New Year's Day since we have to serve Black-Eyed Peas for my Texas family. I did not have sausage or a "ham hock" but used thick sliced cooked bacon and that was awesome. I did not add rice or cheese since we have so much other food to serve that day (pork roast, mashed potatoes, green beans, etc.) I cooked it for a long time and the beans got very soft and tender. By the way I used a whole big bag of FROZEN Black-eyed Peas, easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
One of the best black-eyed pea recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made this recipie and just loved it!! I am a Southern gal and needed to make my Black-Eyed peas for the New Year. I used Bushes black-eyed peas, less butter and added a little cream cheese...not too much. It was great. I am not a fan of bell peppers, so I left them out. I highly recomend this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My husband is not a fan of black-eyed peas, but he ate every bite on his plate. Thank you for sharing a wonderful recipe to start the new year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Usually, we have black eyed peas left over. Today we did not. I used the butter, 1 onion, 1/2 of a green pepper and a bag of frozen black eyed peas. We had sausage left over from our trip to our favorite barbecue place last night, so that took the place of both the sausage and the hog jowl. After reading the reviews, I used a teaspoon of garlic pepper; it could have used 2 tsp. But otherwise, was very tasty. We didn't use the rice or cheese. The directions on the frozen black eyed peas said to boil for 3 mins and simmer for 40 to 45 mins. They were perfectly cooked at that time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I never ate black eyed peas before but wanted to start the year with good luck. I had to omit the bell pepper. I substituted diced leftover Christmas ham for the smoked sausage and a smoked pork neck bone for the hog jowl, I also added a bay leaf. Last, I used chicken broth instead of the water and brown rice instead of white. My husband and both agreed this "was perfect". I realize I made a lot of changes from the original recipe but without the original, I never could have made this wonderful dish. Thank you I. Tucker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Weymouth Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I loved this! I used 12 oz. sausage to make up for not having the hog jowl, used 3/4 c. rice, and added garlic and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Made this with a few changes. Cut the butter to 2 TBSP, used andouille sausage instead of smoked. Used 4 ounces of ham instead of ham hock. Used 1/2 cup habanero shredded chesse instead of cheddar. Still a little soupy so we served over more rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ionia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Camden, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States