New Year Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Wonderful! Added the 5 pepperoncini trusting fellow reviewers that the dish won't be spicy (because my ML who is sensitive to things being spicy won't eat it) and it wasn't. This is now the recipe we use on New Years Day. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISIS7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is good but probably a little much on the liquid. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simplicity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Sweet stuff!! I made with just a few revisions...so good I downed the first bowl in minutes!!! Great with a sweet cornbread! I used: white onion..had no yellow....extra fresh garlic (omitted the garlic powder)..omitted the water..used all the liquid from the canned tomatoes PLUS a can of stewed tomatoes...added extra ham (big chunks)...used three small ham hocks...cause thats what came in the package =). I did not have bay leaf..and I only used salt and pepper when cooking the onions and garlic in the oil...this is so good..I just cannot believe it! // side note..I'm not sure what size pot the original recipe used...but my biggest stock pot was FULL without the addition of water...and I had plenty of "juice" .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BecciB
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Got this cooking right now. Hmmm. Hmmm. If I were going to yes these beans as a serving of vegetables, I might cut back on the water. However, I plan to serve it over rice in a bowl. So the extra liquid will be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
i used smoked turkey wings, fresh garlic, 1/2 the liquid and one celery stalk. great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I cut the water back to 2 cups and the chicken stock back to 4 cups. 10 cups less liquid than the recipe calls for! But it is delicious and my 10 year old even likes it. I also added a ham steak all cubed up, and some Cajun seasoning. Two extra pepperoncini. Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is a good recipe, but like other reviewers, I only added half the water it called for and I think it was still too much. Not sure you need to add any water at all... I didn't add the pepperonicinis because I didn't want it to be too hot for my son. The flavors are great, just serve over rice with corn bread and collard greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars even though I ended up burning them. If you double the recipe, don't put as much liquid as the recipe tells you. It's way too much! I also added a whole jar of jalapenos that I diced. It tasted very good before I turned up the heat too much to boil off some of the excess water. Oh, well. I will be making again. I'll just be keeping a closer eye on my pot next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Grimes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Enjoyed this recipe. It seemed like way too much liquid so I only added 3 of the 8 cups of water and there was still too much "pot liquor" at the end. Also, the ham meat never fell off the bone and I cooked it quite a bit longer than recommended (about 4 hours total). I didn't have any pepperoncinis so I had to leave that out, but I think they would definitely have added something to it. Thought about substituting jalapeños but didn't want to make it to spicy for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States