New Year Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
STUPENDOUS FLAVOR! Do NOT leave out the pepperoncini, but adjust amount up or down according to your 'spice' preference - the flavor is superb! Believe me, I almost passed this one by when I saw pepperoncini as an ingredient - so VERY glad I did not!! DE-LI-CI-OUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was amazingly easy to prepare, and delicious! I did substitute smoked turkey for the ham hocks, but otherwise followed the recipe. On the advice from others I did include the pepperoncini peppers and it was not at all spicy. My family loved it so I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Loved this recipe -- real keeper. Don't need the water and it was perfect. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I'm not sure whether I should review this as I just used it as a guide to throw together a last minute whim. I used canned black eyed peas, bacon and far less liquids to keep it fast - but tried to keep true to the mix of other ingredients/seasonings. The whole family loved it - and they are not bean lovers - there's nothing left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was great! I adjusted the recipe quite a bit, thanks to many of the reviews here. :) I omitted the water and made this a vegetarian dish by using vegetable broth instead of chicken stock and omitted the ham hock. I did not drain the tomatoes, and the liquid from the broth & tomatoes was more than enough for this recipe. I had to cook it longer than 3 hours to reduce the liquid, I'd say around 4 hours, and it was a perfect consistency. I paired it with Italian-Style Swiss Chard & Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread (both also found on allrecipes). Great complements to the beans. The chard helped add some additional spice to compensate for the lack of meat in the beans. A great New Years Day meal! Thank you for sharing this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
gr8 recipe... as like many others, i put less water... family loved it... will be using again soon.. thx...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
My first attempt at Black eyed peas and hamhocks. I followed closely, but did not have the peppers or bay leaf. I baked overnight in the crockpot on Low. These were soooo good. Great Flavor!!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Delicious! Didn't change a thing and this is hands down the best black eyed pea recipe I ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarl_Cabot_2k

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
black eye good......my family enjoyed the tasty black eye peas.....happy new
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
So so so good! Will probably reduce liquid next time. Had to cook it all day to get the liquid to go down. We used our hambone from our spiral sliced ham we had on Christmas Eve. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Carnation, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States