New Year Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
1. The pepperocinis are those (very mild) yellow peppers that you often get whole on top of Greek salads... they will not make this dish spicy, but add a very special flavor to it. I would not reccommend leaving them out. You can find them at any grocery store - they are in jar near where you find the olives. If you would like the peas to be spicy, by all means add some other peppers or even some cajun seasoning. 2. The ham hocks that are called for do not offer any meat to be eaten - they serve the purpose of flavoring the peas. If you would like chunks of meat in the peas, use another type of ham as well as the hocks (as the flavor that the bones and skin impart are the signature flavor of traditional southern black-eyed peas) 3. If you would like less liquid in the peas, or a thicker sauce, reduce the water by half and/or add a tablespoon of flour to the sauteed onion to make a sort of paste before adding the liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAYAESR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I cut the water back to 2 cups and the chicken stock back to 4 cups. 10 cups less liquid than the recipe calls for! But it is delicious and my 10 year old even likes it. I also added a ham steak all cubed up, and some Cajun seasoning. Two extra pepperoncini. Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
My first attempt at Black eyed peas and hamhocks. I followed closely, but did not have the peppers or bay leaf. I baked overnight in the crockpot on Low. These were soooo good. Great Flavor!!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Enjoyed this recipe. It seemed like way too much liquid so I only added 3 of the 8 cups of water and there was still too much "pot liquor" at the end. Also, the ham meat never fell off the bone and I cooked it quite a bit longer than recommended (about 4 hours total). I didn't have any pepperoncinis so I had to leave that out, but I think they would definitely have added something to it. Thought about substituting jalapeños but didn't want to make it to spicy for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Sweet stuff!! I made with just a few revisions...so good I downed the first bowl in minutes!!! Great with a sweet cornbread! I used: white onion..had no yellow....extra fresh garlic (omitted the garlic powder)..omitted the water..used all the liquid from the canned tomatoes PLUS a can of stewed tomatoes...added extra ham (big chunks)...used three small ham hocks...cause thats what came in the package =). I did not have bay leaf..and I only used salt and pepper when cooking the onions and garlic in the oil...this is so good..I just cannot believe it! // side note..I'm not sure what size pot the original recipe used...but my biggest stock pot was FULL without the addition of water...and I had plenty of "juice" .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BecciB
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This is better than a lot of the hoppin' john recipes out there. It is very flavorful. Just add rice! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I'm not sure whether I should review this as I just used it as a guide to throw together a last minute whim. I used canned black eyed peas, bacon and far less liquids to keep it fast - but tried to keep true to the mix of other ingredients/seasonings. The whole family loved it - and they are not bean lovers - there's nothing left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Wonderful! Added the 5 pepperoncini trusting fellow reviewers that the dish won't be spicy (because my ML who is sensitive to things being spicy won't eat it) and it wasn't. This is now the recipe we use on New Years Day. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krisi Bode Symons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
STUPENDOUS FLAVOR! Do NOT leave out the pepperoncini, but adjust amount up or down according to your 'spice' preference - the flavor is superb! Believe me, I almost passed this one by when I saw pepperoncini as an ingredient - so VERY glad I did not!! DE-LI-CI-OUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
gr8 recipe... as like many others, i put less water... family loved it... will be using again soon.. thx...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States