New Year Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Delicious! Didn't change a thing and this is hands down the best black eyed pea recipe I ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarl_Cabot_2k

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
black eye good......my family enjoyed the tasty black eye peas.....happy new
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
So so so good! Will probably reduce liquid next time. Had to cook it all day to get the liquid to go down. We used our hambone from our spiral sliced ham we had on Christmas Eve. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Carnation, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Wonderful! Added the 5 pepperoncini trusting fellow reviewers that the dish won't be spicy (because my ML who is sensitive to things being spicy won't eat it) and it wasn't. This is now the recipe we use on New Years Day. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krisi Bode Symons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is good but probably a little much on the liquid. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simplicity
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Sweet stuff!! I made with just a few revisions...so good I downed the first bowl in minutes!!! Great with a sweet cornbread! I used: white onion..had no yellow....extra fresh garlic (omitted the garlic powder)..omitted the water..used all the liquid from the canned tomatoes PLUS a can of stewed tomatoes...added extra ham (big chunks)...used three small ham hocks...cause thats what came in the package =). I did not have bay leaf..and I only used salt and pepper when cooking the onions and garlic in the oil...this is so good..I just cannot believe it! // side note..I'm not sure what size pot the original recipe used...but my biggest stock pot was FULL without the addition of water...and I had plenty of "juice" .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BecciB
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Got this cooking right now. Hmmm. Hmmm. If I were going to yes these beans as a serving of vegetables, I might cut back on the water. However, I plan to serve it over rice in a bowl. So the extra liquid will be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
i used smoked turkey wings, fresh garlic, 1/2 the liquid and one celery stalk. great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I cut the water back to 2 cups and the chicken stock back to 4 cups. 10 cups less liquid than the recipe calls for! But it is delicious and my 10 year old even likes it. I also added a ham steak all cubed up, and some Cajun seasoning. Two extra pepperoncini. Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States