New Red Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by SSwisher
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I used about 3.5 lbs of regularly sized red potatoes (cubed to bite size pieces, started with cold water with a tbs of white vinegar and boiled 8 minutes until just done) and red onion (what I had). I did not think the cup of celery nor half cup of onion was enough, so I added more until it looked right for our tastes. I used light mayo and made 1.5 times the dressing with about a tablespoon of mustard added in. This is a great base recipe and easily modified to suit your family's taste and what you have on hand. Definitely reminded me of my grandmother's potato salad but was a bit lighter in taste (light mayo). Make the day ahead if possible because it is much more flavorful the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
really enjoy this recipe i just add 1 teaspoon of salt and add bacon for a special treat. the bacon makes this recipe rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Delicious with some mustard added. It's a little bland without it. I also added olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
So delicious! We added a few extra eggs & some cooked, crumbled bacon. You could also add some dill, but this recipe is already excellent as is!! Thank you for an easy new staple to our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
All I can say is I won over my family who don't really like Potato Salad! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I just made this and it is pretty darn good. I have never been able to make potato salad, but I followed recipe almost to a tee. I did not have green onions so I used dry minced onion. Also added dill weed and a little mustard from previous reviews. Would of gave a 5, but I feel the 2 table spoons of vinegar was just a tad too much. I'll cut it down a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I made this for a family get together. Everyone enjoyed it. I didn't have celery, so I used about a tsp of celery seed. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I was looking for the right recipe to make a potato salad with unpeeled red potatoes and it had just the perfect amounts for the size salad I wanted to make. Great directions on the potatoes and the egg directions are also what I was taught to do, they come out just right. I added a tbsp of mustard, and used a few radishes and some celery for some extra crunch and color. And also used Miracle Whip (about 1/2 as much instead because I wanted less creaminess - usually the mixture I make overwhelms the potatoes.) Love it with any summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I always thought my Dad's potatoa salad was the best. Sorry, Dad....my kids like this better! Perfect - my family could eat it every night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Thought I should post a review after using this recipe so many times. This is a very good basic recipe as posted, but I add 1 t. spicy mustard, 1 T. sugar, and 1/2 t. dill weed to make it classicly great (amounts if not doubling/tripling recipe). Huge hit everywhere I take it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States