New Orleans Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
It took a bit more time but I made the fish stock with my shrimp shells and tails. I flavored the stock with onions, celery, garlic and bay leaf. I did notice by the time I came to adding the beer that I was going to have too much liquid for the amount of vegetables and shrimp and my sauce was already a nice thickness, so I left half the beer out. I did coat my shrimp with my favorite creole seasoning and let it marinate before adding it in. I served over a bowl of creamy Southern grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This recipe is delicious...I have cooked it quite a few times both for family and guests. It always wows. I had to play with making the roue, but I think I now finally have it right. I will make this one again. Bernadette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very good indeed. Only changes: I used week chicken stock, because fish stock cubes aren't available in my neckadawoods, and the shrimp I used were frozen-shelled, so I couldn't make stock with the shells. I also upped the butter to 1/4 cup to match the flour, because the proportions in the recipe seemed odd to me. Served it on steamed white rice. Very nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Paroo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
The only flavor this had was the red pepper flakes. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sedgwick, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mulvane, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Not as good as I had hoped. The "gravy" did not form so I used a little cornstarch. Then it was very thick and had little taste. Maybe a more traditional roux would add depth to the flavor. Will try again with a darker roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
Really yummy. This is the first time that I ever made a roux. I screwed it up a little so it was a little lumpy, but I just kept whisking until it went smooth. I added hot chili paste to the veggies after I cooked them, and I added crushed red pepper flake in the roux when i added the salt and pepper. My boyfriend and I both enjoyed it thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Outstanding! Good luck finding fish stock at the store, so I used vegetable broth instead and it was great. I love New Orleans style cuisine and this fit the bill. I found myself adding a little extra flour and a little cornstarch to thicken the gravy. Thanks Sylvia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This was alright. My hubby absolutely loved it, and I will admit that the shrimp was quite good. I had to substitute jalapenos for the hot red pepper, and I added the spicy carrots from the can of jalapenos. It was good, nice and spicy, but maybe I'd like it better with the red peppers. Color can make a world of difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
Yummy! I've made this three times and everyone loves it. We like it spicy but if you don't you'll definitely need to ease up on the peppers. Also, I measured all ingredients precisely and I found that there was not sufficient flour to thicken into a gravy. I added a small flour and water mixture just before adding the veggies so that I had the right consistency. (This is no problem for me as I'm more of a 'throw it all in without measuring' kind of cook anyway, which was is just what I did after the first preparation) I found that it took me longer than the estimated times, but maybe the estimate assumes vegetables chopped, ingredients measured and waiting, etc. Also, instead of fish stock, I just took the shells from the shrimp I was already using and made shrimp stock and used that. Maybe it's better with the fish stock but I thought this was delicious and time-saving for me. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
I thought this was very good although spicier than I thought it would be. Next time maybe I'll only use 1/2 a green pepper - the man didn't like that so much. I served it with dirty rice which was a great compliment. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States