New Orleans Shrimp Toss Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Leila
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was yummy, easy and quick. The cream sauce is flavorful. I would give it 4 and 1/2 stars. I used Emeril's Bayou Blast seasoning instead of cajun seasoning and served it on top of baked Cheesy Polenta. I couldn't find the herbed soup, so I used regular cream of chicken. I would suggest not serving this on top of anything too salty. Cooking tips: make sure you throw your garlic in after the onions have been sauteeing for a bit, or it will burn. Also, five minutes was too long for my shrimp. Don't forget to take into account the fact that the shrimp will continue to cook after you pull the sauce off the heat. The color is a big funny (due to the soup) but a dash of paprika pretties up this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I thought this meal was great! I didn't have any of the fancy cream of chicken soup (nor did the grocery store) so I had to use the regular kind. At first I thought it was quite salty, but on top of the corn bread it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilaussiemum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was really good! I did find the Cream of Chicken with Herbs. (I thought that was pretty good by itself.) This is similar to a dish I prepare called "Barbequed Shrimp" but it uses a whole lot of butter. This seems a little healthier, and the taste is not that different. Plus, the Barbequed Shrimp dish leaves the shells on until it is on your plate. So, this is a lot less messier, too! I just served it with some french bread for dipping. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I'm giving this recipe five stars because it looks and sounds delicious, even though I have'nt prepared it yet. But the idea of corn bread or biscuits sounds strange to me. i'm thinking it'll be great served over pasta or rice. I'm going to try it first chance I get and I'll let you all know with a tried and true review of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ashford, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This was very tasty. I used the low fat plain cream of chicken and it tasted great! With the amount of sauce that it makes, you could easily double the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Good, quick, and easy! I used about 1-1/2 pound of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This is a wonderful and quick "go-to" meal for our family. We serve it with noodles and is wonderful. Very close to the Seafood Alfredo served at a local resturant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomaston, Georgia, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
my husband LOVED this me not so much it was too soupy for my tastes but I will certainly make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I made this for dinner last night and am so glad I did! This was one of the best recipes I have had in a long time! I did make a few substitutions though. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, regular cream of chicken soup instead of the one with herbs, omitted the chives and served over penne pasta instead of a biscuit or cornbread. I also cooked the sauce and shrimp for a lot longer than what the recipe called for on very, very low heat. Next time I think I will add scallops and serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
so good!! my fiance and i loved it!! added extra cayenne pepper and chili pepper for the extra kick! but it was perfect! served it with cheesey rice! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States