New Orleans Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
CGAIL ... ONE ABOVE THE ABOVER REVIEWERS, SAID THAT THE RECIPE IS FOR 15 PEOPLE. ITS FOR 50.. I REPEAT 50 ( FIFTY ).. SEEMS THAT A PERSON WOULD CHECK THAT BEFORE MAKING COMMENTS !!! THIS RECIPE IS GREAT AND IT IS FOR 50 PEOPLE. -- OR SCALE IT DOWN TO YOUR FAMILY'S SIZE. THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This is the best jambalaya my husband and I have had ever! I scaled the recipe to 4 servings then tweaked the amounts slightly, but it turns out perfectly every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
The staff has increased the number of servings on this recipe to a more realistic portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
This recipe serves 15? It takes like 19 lbs of meat!! Do you know how long it takes to peel and devein even just 4 lbs of shrimp? The worst part of this recipe was the rice. I added the rice like it says and it never got soft, despite 25 minutes of boiling, cooling for 4 hours, baking for 2 hours and then reboiling for another 45 minutes, even with added chick stock. The jambalaya tasted like it had gravel in it. Secondly, it cost a fortune in meat products, but all of the pepper kills the taste. Thirdly, it took me all day to make and was still a disaster. The quantities of food are not the right proportion to the number of servings. Don't waste your time and money on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
I cooked this up for a super bowl party and it was the HIT of the buffet. We warned, you are going to have to end up cooking this dish is a very large pot! And not a steaming pot, but one with a thick bottom. It's worth the work and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
This jambalaya is absolutely delicious. It's so good that I called my husband at work to get him excited for dinner. I can't wait to share this with a friend who is from N'Awlins! This recipe would be more kid-friendly if it weren't spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
I modified this recipe a bit to make it easier to make. I skipped the marinade and just boiled two packs of boneless chicken breasts and then peeled them off the bone into chunks. I saved the liquid as my chicken stock. I then put the bacon in a pot and once it was cooked I dumped in the onions, greenpepper and garlic and cooked about 5 minutes. I skipped adding the flour and just added the seasonings, tomatoes, chicken stock, chicken chunks and kielbasa. I also added seasoning salt to taste. I let it cook for 1.5 hours then added 3 cups of rice(I like my jambalaya on the wet side. After 30 minutes I cut the heat and added a pound of shrimp. When they turned pink it was ready. I served this to a party of 15 and everyone loved it. Some even took some home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
excellent Will use this one over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States