New Orleans Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by NOLA Deb
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I would never half the batter, it's awesome packed full of fruit and nuts. I am thankful I followed pajlymans tips that she left on Dec 24 2007. I added my picture, I chopped the fruit up because we like it that way. We also put the batter in a 12 x 9 pan and sliced it into 6 mini loafs for sharing. It took quite a bit longer to bake in the 12 x 9 pan, I think I baked it for almost 2 hours! I also added cinnamon because my husband likes cinnamon, the cinnamon made the dough darker. I put 2 teaspoons of cinnamon but my husband thought maybe 1 tspn would be sufficient. I loved the nice crusty top this recipe made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLA Deb
Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
For a slightly healthier version, I substituted half whole wheat, half white flour. Replaced white sugar with mix of succunat and raw sugar. I also used dried fruit for the candied fruit and it worked great, especially since I don't like maraschino cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
The cake was too sweet, and the top got hard, and the center gooey. Would never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Not my Grandmother's Fruitcake but soooo close. Have been looking for a recipe like this since we lost her recipe years ago. Kept the amount of fruit the same by weight but made the mixture of candied mixed fruit,candied cherries, candied pineapple,dates and raisins. Slightly chop the nuts....Mix half the flour with the fruits. This will keep fruit from sticking together. Add fruit and nuts last. Please don't double the batter. THIS IS FRUITCAKE, not cake with fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
surprised that there was no oil or butter in the recipe i added 50grms of butter but this made it a bit soggy in the middle also extended the cooking time by 15 minutes it does,nt work just followed the recipe second time round spot on delicious just about to make another one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I have made this recipe for 35 years but we moved this past summer and I lost my recipe box. I was so happy to find it again. This fruitcake is meant to be solid fruit and nuts, so DON'T double the batter. Try this instead: Sift together the dry ingredients. I use kitchen scissors to cut the dates and cut them into a very large bowl (I sometimes use a large roasting pan). Then take about a half cup of the flour mixture and sift it over the dates. Toss the dates to coat each piece with flour. Repeat for the pineapple, the cherries, and the pecans. By now all the fruit and nuts should be mixed together and coated with flour. Now wisk the sugar, eggs, and vanilla together and then pour it as evenly as possible over the fruit and nuts. You can try using two spoons to mix it all together, but I quickly switch to my clean hands and work the sticky stuff throughly to dampen all the flour. When throughly mixed take it up by the handful and pack it into the loaf pans. Pack it in so there are no gaps among the the ingredients. Bake, cool, cut thinly, and enjoy! (You can add liqour after it is baked by wrapping the cake in cheese cloth, soak throughly with your favorite liquor and store it in an air-tight container until ready to serve.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Thanks to Clinicalhynopsis for the tip to half the batter. Just too much pecans and dried fruits/dates for that amount of batter stated in the recipe. Using the amount of batter specified, I halved the cherries, pineapples, pecans and replaced the dates with mixed fruits. This recipe is so simple to follow yet the outcome is perfect for a fruitcake that is moist inside, crispy on the outside, crunchy and with lots of fruits. Good for kids since it is not alcoholic. Try my recipe for Christmas : http://allrecipes.com/PersonalRecipe/62211570/Stained-Glass-Christmas-Cake/Detail.aspx#
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Excellent recipe, except it omits adding the pecans. Adding them with the fruit produces the desired results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I really like this recipe. It is extremely tasty without any alcohol. I did make two changes however. I used 1 lb pecans and 1 lb walnuts. I also doubled the batter. Otherwise this recipe came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States