New Orleans Corn Bisque with Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This soup is very tasty although I found it needed A LOT of seasoning. In my case, I added garlic, thyme and extra salt and pepper. I used half and half and chicken stock for the base. Also added diced carrots for a little color. Super easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I am so mad at myself! I read through a ton of reviews and had it all planned out in my head..."add creole seasoning...add creole seasoning"! And what did I forget?... yup, you guessed it. Regardless of that, my husband really liked this bisque (he also had fun saying "bisque" - think rich, snooty, clenched teeth accent)! I think next time I will cook the sausage with the onions and garlic and omit the butter...it really just sat on top of the soup, which then ended up too greasy. Oh, I also substituted a can of chicken broth for a cup of milk (I ran out!) Will definitely make again...this time with the creole seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Superb soup!!! Used smoked turkey sausage, but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. We all loved this one and finished it all at one meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Very yummy. I fed my family this and they loved it. Especially on this snowy night. This meal was made on a budget and good. I used the suggestion to cook the sausage and use the fat from that to make the rue. We will be making this meal again very soon. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
So good and so easy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIDI4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I made with chicken andouille sausage. I browned sausage first took out of pot then browned onions and a red pepper. cooked potatoes in the milk used skim milk. Added sausage back in at the end. would never know i used low fat ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
AMAZING!!!!!!! I followed other reviewers recommendations and added some cajun & creole seasoning and 1/2 lb of shrimp. My family loved it, will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Heppner, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lexington, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was absolutely AMAZING. I added Tony Chacheres, but besides that, kept everything the same. Oh my goodness.... melt in your mouth deliciousness. I served it with a side of cornbread. This is going to become a regular on my winter meal rotations. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This recipe is excellent as written, I double the recipe so we have left-overs the next day. Super easy and a really quick dish to prepare. I have made this several times and it is a big hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This recipe is great, however, I did make some changes. I ended up using Butterball Turkey Sausage instead of regular smoked sausage. I didn't use salt, but I did add pepper, basil, garlic & chilli powder. Instead of canned, like others suggested, I used frozen corn. Also, for the potatoes, I cut up red potatoes with the skin still on. This turned out AMAZING! There were absolutely no leftovers! Adding the shredded cheddar to your bowl is also a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States