New Orleans Corn Bisque with Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Neither my husband or I cared for the sausage in the soup, the consistency and taste was not very good. I think if I would have fried it with the onions it might have turned out better. I did not cook the potaotes ahead of time, I added them with the sausage and corn. Other than the sausage, the soup had a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
So delicious! I used smoked turkey sausage and 1% milk. I also added a little adoba seasoning. Very filling and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by profit414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
WOW! So delish and easy! Not sure why 'New Orleans' is in the name because there is really nothing 'New Orleans' about it. And I mean NOT in a bad way. Only slight tweeks.....cooked the sausage with the onions and garlic. And I used a full bag of frozen corn. It was an easy and filling soup on a cold winter's night. And is will be part of my winter dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skmge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I think this has a lot of potential. I followed the reviews and added more chicken broth. It was still a little bland and had a there was a strong flour taste. I will try again with more chicken broth and additional seasonings to cut the flour. Great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY5473

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grandview, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Because many reviewers thought this was bland, I added about a teaspoon of Cajun seasoning, and 1/4 tsp. of smoked paprika to enhance the smoky flavor of the sausage. We thought it was a very good soup that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
If I make it again I will definitely alter the recipe...but don't know how right now. I followed the recipe exactly and something was missing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Made as is... with the exception of plenty of seasoned salt and a little garlic powder. My husbad who says that soup "isn't filling enough" LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candie
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Update to my original review. As written, the recipe is indeed very bland, but an excellent base to work with. This is what I did when I revisited it and my family raved about it- I cut the butter to 2 tblsp and cooked my sausage with the onions and added fresh chopped garlic. I also added finely shredded carrots to the mix before adding the flour. Replaced 1cup of milk with chicken broth. Omitted the salt and pepper, seasoned with dried oregano, thyme and basil. and a good healthy shake of Cajun seasoning. Did not precook the potatoes, added them at the same time I added the corn and simmered till it was tenders. Mixed in about a cup of cheddar cheese and served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vine Grove, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This bisque is so simple and delicious. I didn't have any onions so I used onion powder, next time I will definitely use an onion. I fried up the sausages first with some minced garlic and I threw in some paprika, cajun seasoning, and lots of crushed red pepper (if I didn't, I don't see what makes this New Orleans-y). Since I used cajun seasoning I omitted the salt and pepper. Also, since I fried up the sausages first and threw everything in that pot, I didn't have to use that much butter. I used more potatoes than what was called for and I used a 16oz frozen bag of corn. I only used the 4 cups of milk (skim) called for even though I added more potatoes and corn. I had to add an extra tablespoon (heaping) of flour to help it thicken up and I let the soup simmer for about half an hour (to thicken up). I didn't use any cheese or parsley, I didn't think it needed it. This is super easy and tasty and will probably be a regular in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This turned out great. I read through some reviews and made a few changes. I cooked some minced garlic in with the onion. After adding the milk and bringing it to a boil, I added my potatoes (uncooked), frozen corn, sausage and frozen, cooked, peeled shrimp. It turned out great and was a wonderful dinner (paired with cornbread from this site) for a cold, rainy evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inked Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Texas, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States