New Orleans Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Stacy
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This pie is DELICIOUS! The 1st time I made it, it did not set very well, so I made some adjustments for the 2nd time when I made 2 for a retirement party at work: be sure and let your ingredients get to room temperature and then I lowered the temp to 350 and cooked about an hour. I served this with the "bourbon whipped cream" recipe submitted by POOKA75. We had a ton of desserts for the party and both of my pies were the only desserts that didn't have any leftovers! I had never made a pecan pie before this and I don't think I'll need to look for another recipe - this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
My husband thinks I'm evil. He can't get enough of this pie. I've already make it twice, once for Thanksgiving and once for a Christmas party. Everyone LOVED it and I got so many compliments! Delicious. And it is so easy to make! I used light corn syrup with Ghiradelli 60% cocoa chips. Make sure you use a deep crust or it will bubble over. Also, I lined the chocolate chips on the bottom of the crust before I poured the batter in (I did not mix the chocolate chips in) and I really liked it that way because the chips stayed somewhat intact. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betsyjane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I love pecan pie. I love chocolate. I love bourbon. But I guess I really don't love it when these three tasty things are mixed together. I only had one slice (and I made two pies). It was OK, but I wouldn't eat it again. However, I'm giving it 5 stars at the request of my friends, who fell head-over-heels for this recipe and devoured both of the pies. So I would make it again for special occasions, but never for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This pie was to die for - I had to make some changes out of neccessity: not enough corn syrup, so I used about 3/4 cup maple syrup instead. I also used whiskey instead of bourbon (Jameson) and took the other reviewer's advice and used 4Tbsp. Finally, I didn't add the chocolate chips because this was for Thanksgiving and we wanted something slightly more traditional. The texture was out of this world and the flavour - mmm. We served it with rum-spiked whipped cream (Dad was getting possessive of all his good 16 year old Jameson being used for cooking!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
My brother had made a pie like this but wouldn't share the recipe so I found it here! The only change I made was a bit more bourbon so that the finished product would maintain the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Made this yesterday for christmas. Was a hit. Followed directions exactly. USed a glass deep dish pie pan. Spread the chips on the crust as another reviewer suggested. Used light corn syrup. Store-bought refrigerated pie crust brought to room temperature first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsborough, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is the best pecan pie I've ever tasted. The only thing I'd do differently next time is make 2 of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
By far the best Pecan Pie recipe I have had. We used Crown Royal for the bourbon, otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Very good! Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This pie is great! I have already mede it 3 times and I'm making 2 for Thanksgiving. I followed recipe exact. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Vienna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States