New Orleans Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Stacy
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This pie is DELICIOUS! The 1st time I made it, it did not set very well, so I made some adjustments for the 2nd time when I made 2 for a retirement party at work: be sure and let your ingredients get to room temperature and then I lowered the temp to 350 and cooked about an hour. I served this with the "bourbon whipped cream" recipe submitted by POOKA75. We had a ton of desserts for the party and both of my pies were the only desserts that didn't have any leftovers! I had never made a pecan pie before this and I don't think I'll need to look for another recipe - this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
My husband thinks I'm evil. He can't get enough of this pie. I've already make it twice, once for Thanksgiving and once for a Christmas party. Everyone LOVED it and I got so many compliments! Delicious. And it is so easy to make! I used light corn syrup with Ghiradelli 60% cocoa chips. Make sure you use a deep crust or it will bubble over. Also, I lined the chocolate chips on the bottom of the crust before I poured the batter in (I did not mix the chocolate chips in) and I really liked it that way because the chips stayed somewhat intact. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betsyjane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I love pecan pie. I love chocolate. I love bourbon. But I guess I really don't love it when these three tasty things are mixed together. I only had one slice (and I made two pies). It was OK, but I wouldn't eat it again. However, I'm giving it 5 stars at the request of my friends, who fell head-over-heels for this recipe and devoured both of the pies. So I would make it again for special occasions, but never for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This pie was to die for - I had to make some changes out of neccessity: not enough corn syrup, so I used about 3/4 cup maple syrup instead. I also used whiskey instead of bourbon (Jameson) and took the other reviewer's advice and used 4Tbsp. Finally, I didn't add the chocolate chips because this was for Thanksgiving and we wanted something slightly more traditional. The texture was out of this world and the flavour - mmm. We served it with rum-spiked whipped cream (Dad was getting possessive of all his good 16 year old Jameson being used for cooking!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
My brother had made a pie like this but wouldn't share the recipe so I found it here! The only change I made was a bit more bourbon so that the finished product would maintain the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Made this yesterday for christmas. Was a hit. Followed directions exactly. USed a glass deep dish pie pan. Spread the chips on the crust as another reviewer suggested. Used light corn syrup. Store-bought refrigerated pie crust brought to room temperature first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsborough, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is the best pecan pie I've ever tasted. The only thing I'd do differently next time is make 2 of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I made this exactly how the recipe stated. The chocolate chips didn't melt and intertwine with the filling. Instead, I have pecan pie with chocolate chunks. Not what the recipe made me to believe.:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeahW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
By far the best Pecan Pie recipe I have had. We used Crown Royal for the bourbon, otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Very good! Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States