New Orleans Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This is the BEST pie I've ever made and so easy if you use purchased crust. Everyone loves this pie and I only had left-overs once (Thanksgiving - when we had so many desserts) and this pie is even better when it's been refrigerated! The texture changes; it becomes firmer and the filling is more like caramel. I will never make another type of pecan pie again. This one is so good, so easy, and needs no tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I took everyone's advice and layered the chocolate chips on the bottom and it came out great! My friends loved it and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
A BIG HIT at a recent party :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
FABULOUS! I omitted chocolate, upped my Bourbon to 3+ tablespoons, made my own crust, and upped my chopped pecans to almost 2 1/2 c. So many compliments! And, simple, simple, simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilberts, Illinois, USA
Photo by Miss Susan O
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Pretty good pie recipe. I'm not a huge fan of pecan pies but my family enjoyed it (made it for xmas dinner). I followed other's suggestions and: 1.) added 1-2 more tbs of bourbon (Maker's Mark) and 2.) sprinkled semi-sweet Ghiradelli chips on the crust not mix in the batter. I would also definitely make your crust and don't buy pre-made... it does make a difference. Pie turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Susan O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was a huge hit at my Thanskgiving dinner and was the first pie to be finished. I found myself licking the pie-server afterwards because I hardly got any! Its tough being the hostess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I made this exactly how the recipe stated. The chocolate chips didn't melt and intertwine with the filling. Instead, I have pecan pie with chocolate chunks. Not what the recipe made me to believe.:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeahW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Fabulous......made this for Thanksgiving, this turned out better than any Pecan Pie I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Very good. I cut back on the chocolate chips per some other reviews to 3/4 cup. Next time I will cut just a little further. All said, everyone loved this. It is a keeper recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
best pie ever! I made this for Thanksgiving this year, took it to a family dinner, everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States