New Orleans Barbequed Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I'm hoping this 2nd review gets printed: We have made this many many times now and have served it to crowds of people, everyone, I mean everyone raves about it. old review: We made this recipe according to the directions and used 2 cloves of fresh garlic and a teaspoon of Old Bay. We loved it. A few days later we had company and doubled the recipe (add 5-10 mins cooking time as it does take a bit longer with more shrimp). We noticed on the first go-around that there was plenty of "dipping" sauce leftover in spite of us having gone thru a small loaf of French bread so on the second go-around we added a pint of fresh mushrooms. Still plenty of sauce for dipping and some mighty tasty mushrooms too!!! One of the best recipes on this site and incredibly easy to make. 5 stars +++.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
This is a wonderful dish. My whole family loved it though complained because the shrimp were not peeled. As a test, I made it with one with a couple of peeled shrimp in the mix and proved my point the shrimp have to be cooked with the shell on. This is wonderful served over saffron rice with crusty Italian bread on the side to dunk in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
Absolutely Excellent!! The only thing that I changed was to add real garlic instead of powder and add a healthy dose of Old Bay Seasoning!! We served it over brown rice. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2005
This was super!! I will make this one many times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This recipe has become one of my family's favorites! My husband is especially picky and he loved this. It was so easy to make. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
This is a fantastic recipe!! My boyfriend said it was the best shrimp he ever tasted!! Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
If I could give this more than 5 stars I would! Followed the recipe exactly and it was absolutely delicious. I am originally from the New Orleans area so I am picky about my shrimp and I loved this recipe. My very picky husband loved this recipe. Easy, yummy, and fairly inexpensive. What more can I say? Make sure you don't skip the french bread. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
This is an AWESOME recipe! I have made it 3 times and each time I can't wait to make it again. The only adjustment that I have made is to leave the lemon out. I am not a lover of lemon with seafood. Served with garlic bread for dunking, it is the BEST shrimp I have ever had. Thanks for submitting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYDBURT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toccoa, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eastanollee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
Since I didn't have Italian dressing on hand, I substituted Caesar dressing. I also added fresh minced garlic instead of garlic powder. I really liked the outcome; however, my husband did not grab seconds....a real indicator that he wasn't crazy over it. Will try this again - and will follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
Yum! I bet I've made this recipe at least six times in the last few months and I've given the recipe to four friends. It is simple (easy to make after work) and very, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States