New Orleans Barbequed Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I tried this recipe after first finding it a couple of years ago. Ever since, it is a hit (and requested) at all of our family get-togethers. I've pretty much stuck to the recipe, except I always use fresh, minced garlic. And lately, for ease of serving throughout the night, I make it in my slow cooker. Just as the shrimp turns pink, I turn it down to "keep warm" and we can enjoy it for most of the evening. Best shrimp recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Great dish!!! Added tobasco to give it a nice kick, maybe next time I will add some chili powder for more flavor. Anyone complaining about the shells should be told that they are where the fabulous FLAVOR comes from. Worth working for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Like everyone else, I was skeptical. I have been to Pascal Manales and I have made other recipes for BBQ shrimp. I live on the gulf coast and we are very picky down here! But this was simpler than other recipes I have used and I don't think we gave up any flavor. I did add some worcestshire sauce and some tabasco for heat. Several people asked for the recipe and so it must have been a success! I served it in hollowed out bread bowls with the sauce in bowls on the side. Pretty impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLDOOIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I'd rate this one ten stars if I could. It was incredible. It reminded me of Pasquales Manales (sp?) bbq'd shrimp, in New Orleans. We dipped french bread in the sauce (which I doubled), and I also made white rice on the side and we poured the sauce on that, too. Great with a green salad on the side. My 10-year-old son was eating the leftover shrimp COLD the next day!! I tasted it and it was awesome!!! This recipe will not disappoint. Thanks for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I was a little skeptical at first due to the salad dressing but it actually turn out great. Although, I used peeled shrimp instead and added Old Bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I and everyone at my Mardi Gras party loved loved loved this shrimp. I changed it slightly. I used Old Bay Seasoning instead of pepper, and I used fresh garlic. It was fantastically easy to prepare--just the right thing to get you out of the kitchen fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Wonderful and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This turned out pretty good. Everyone was raving over it. I made a few minor adjustments. I added a dash or so of crushed pepper and a maybe a 1/4 cup of white wine. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
WOW! I only tried this after reading the rave reviews as the zesty Italian seasoning turned me off. I tripled the recipe and added Old Bay and fresh garlic as suggested. My guests went wild over it. I had to give them the repipe before they left. I will make this many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
First off, I hate anythiing marinated in Italian dresssing so I was skeptical of this recipe but decided to give it a try based on the great reviews. I had to alter it because I grilled the shrimp. Instead of ½ cup of butter I used ¼ cup of olive oil. I used 2 cloves fresh garlic, ½ fresh squeezed lemon and 2 tsp Old Bay. It was simply amazing. My neighbor who came to our barbeque also brought shrimp and I ended up feeling bad because everyone was raving and devouring my shrimp! Yes, they are that unbelievably good! I can't wait to make this recipe as written with the butter baked in the oven. I just wanted to let people know that it is delicious grilled too! Also, I peeled my shrimp and the flavor permeated the shrimp and was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States