New Mom Broccoli Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Even though I changed this recipe a bit, I still give it a 5 star because it is such a great base recipe. I made this for my gluten/casein sensitive son so I did not add cheese like the other reviewers. I added 3 T of almond flour instead of the all-purpose flour. I also added 1/2 to 3/4 of a can of artichokes that I chopped up. I did not have time to cook the onion so I just used onion and garlic powder. I also used fresh chopped broccoli. My son said it was great! Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I think the recipe as-is would only be a 3 1/2 stars. I rated this with 5 stars with my changes because the recipe was so easy and used a minimal amount of ingredients. I couldn't imagine cooking eggs/quiche without cheese, so I added about 3/4 cup feta cheese, 1/2 cup parm cheese and garlic powder. also decreased to 1/2 onion since I was making more of a breakfast quiche. I also used 2 - 10 oz packages of chopped broccoli. SO Easy and the ingredients readily available in the kitchen. Will definitely make again! Only cooked for @60 minutes until golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
We tried this recipe last night because we happen to have these ingredients on hand along with a big bag of frozen broccoli. I made some changes to this recipe which made it a 5 star for me. I took the suggestions from StephD and added 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese and added 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder because I didn't have any cheddar cheese on hand and the parm cheese was the perfect flavor. It didn't need to bake for 90 min. but one hour was sufficient and I would recommend coating the baking dish heavily because the egg mixture will stick to the pan. I enjoyed this very much and so did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Nice to find a dairy free broccoli casserole that the kids LOVE that doesn't involve overly salted soup mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Excellent! Thanx JerusaleMom! I call my version: Fresh Broccoli/Cheese Kugel: After seeing a good buy on 4 crowns of broccoli, I chopped finely, put it in large bowl, and set aside. In other large bowl, beat together: 6 eggs, 2 T chicken powder, 2 cups ricotta (500g), 1 stick grated sharp cheddar, 1/2 cup mayo, dash of pepper, and previously sauteed & chopped onion & 5 cloves garlic. Pour this mix over broccoli, mix again, pour into well-buttered deep baking pan. Baked 55 min at 375. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Great recipe! Can make as-is for a mild side dish, or spice up and/or add extras for a main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Really GOOD!! I put in garlic powder and topped it with cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
SO good! I love that this uses so much broccoli. I made the mistake of buying a 5 pound bag of frozen broccoli at Costco then realizing I don't like frozen broccoli as a side dish. I made this and it was so awesome. I will probably buy more frozen broccoli just to make this. I did add 1/2c pecorino romano cheese (as others suggested) but this is very, very good. And it doesn't use any "cream of" soup (which I didn't have on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
It was delicious! My husband has a vendetta against onions, so I left those out. It didn't affect the recipe at all. It turned out great, cooked smoothly, and made an awesome lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HumanBeing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
excellent- i added feta and parmesean like someone else- kids didnt love it but they ate it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3rdgenerationcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Unionville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States