New Mom Broccoli Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I think the recipe as-is would only be a 3 1/2 stars. I rated this with 5 stars with my changes because the recipe was so easy and used a minimal amount of ingredients. I couldn't imagine cooking eggs/quiche without cheese, so I added about 3/4 cup feta cheese, 1/2 cup parm cheese and garlic powder. also decreased to 1/2 onion since I was making more of a breakfast quiche. I also used 2 - 10 oz packages of chopped broccoli. SO Easy and the ingredients readily available in the kitchen. Will definitely make again! Only cooked for @60 minutes until golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
So I looked at what other people were saying about this "new mom kugel". First off, the reason this kugel does not have cheese is because often times when we have "kugel" is when we are having a meal with meat. If you are Jewish, many people choose not to mix milk with meat. So I thought that the other adaptions and reviews were right on. First off, add the spice. I usually do a few shakes of black pepper, salt, garlic powder, onion powder and sweet paprika. I also added a 1/2 tsp on chicken soup mix powder. I also mixed 3 cloves fresh garlic to the onion saute. If you are making it dairy the parm cheese is a perfect addition or I would say cheddar would also work. Thank you for a great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Spiewak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
We tried this recipe last night because we happen to have these ingredients on hand along with a big bag of frozen broccoli. I made some changes to this recipe which made it a 5 star for me. I took the suggestions from StephD and added 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese and added 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder because I didn't have any cheddar cheese on hand and the parm cheese was the perfect flavor. It didn't need to bake for 90 min. but one hour was sufficient and I would recommend coating the baking dish heavily because the egg mixture will stick to the pan. I enjoyed this very much and so did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Nice to find a dairy free broccoli casserole that the kids LOVE that doesn't involve overly salted soup mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Even though I changed this recipe a bit, I still give it a 5 star because it is such a great base recipe. I made this for my gluten/casein sensitive son so I did not add cheese like the other reviewers. I added 3 T of almond flour instead of the all-purpose flour. I also added 1/2 to 3/4 of a can of artichokes that I chopped up. I did not have time to cook the onion so I just used onion and garlic powder. I also used fresh chopped broccoli. My son said it was great! Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
i have made this one a bunch of times.... recently i increased the amount of onions and it was amazing as well.. can also be put on a pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Wonderful classic recipe, even better with 3/4C of shredded cheddar cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Excellent! Thanx JerusaleMom! I call my version: Fresh Broccoli/Cheese Kugel: After seeing a good buy on 4 crowns of broccoli, I chopped finely, put it in large bowl, and set aside. In other large bowl, beat together: 6 eggs, 2 T chicken powder, 2 cups ricotta (500g), 1 stick grated sharp cheddar, 1/2 cup mayo, dash of pepper, and previously sauteed & chopped onion & 5 cloves garlic. Pour this mix over broccoli, mix again, pour into well-buttered deep baking pan. Baked 55 min at 375. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Not only am I a new mom, I'm also always looking for non-dairy (parve) kugels/casseroles. Not only is this truly do-able for a new mom, it's also delicious!! I followed the recipe almost exactly - only change is I felt it was lacking some kind of spice, so I mixed in... was it paprika? There's a new mom memory for you... Anyway, if you want a green+cheese dish, make Spinach Brownies from AR; if you want a great non-dairy green baked dish, this kugel is excellent (just throw in your own spice preference for a bit of flavor)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Great recipe! Can make as-is for a mild side dish, or spice up and/or add extras for a main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States