New Mexico Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Used all pork and no beef....also used a can of fire roasted tomatoes and totally eliminated the potatoes. Served with cheese and cour cream. Very tasty and the masa harina is great in this....dont eliminate it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
delicious! Im on Paleo diet so left out the potatoes, Added half a carrot and one ear of corn. Perfect for my cold! Added xtra ceyanne to burn out the virus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This stew was delicious. Great way to use tomatoes from my garden. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
We loved this recipe and although we did change some things, we feel it would be worth 5 stars as written. What I did differently was, I left out the beef and doubled the pork (we didn't have any beef on hand), I substituted whole wheat flour for the masa harina, used sweet yellow onions instead of red (my husband's preference), and coriander instead of cilantro. One thing I did also was substitute a rutabega for the potato, in order to cut the carbohydrate count considerably (we try to watch our starches when we can). This was so wonderful, and even though it may seem like a lot of prep at first glance, was quite easy. We served it to guests on Halloween and they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Excellent recipe! I do agree it's not authentic per se but I don't believe the Author ever stated that it was. You hit the key components. If it were an ingredient that was cheap for field workers and easy to come by, it went in the pot and was served with tortillas, chips or over rice with beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Michael O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
The Green Chile I make is similar to this recipe than the Green Chile II recipe. I only use pork. When browning the meat, I some of the flour/masa to blacken. I deglaze the pan with the broth. I do a 1:1 tomatoes and green chile. I've done many variations. I've added chorizo, used white wine to deglaze, chipolata peppers. I have never used potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
We New Mexicans are VERY protective of our cooking heritage! It takes a lot to impress us. As "Valencia" said, nice but not authentic. Grew up in Albuquerque's north valley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corrales, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is a STEW! Why would you want to use an expensive cut of meat like a beef tenderloin in a crock pot. OMG! I live in Albuquerque, born and raised and any lesser cut would work just fine! We never put beef in our Green Chile Stew just pork! Do use the masa, it adds depth to the stew and remember if you are not from around this part of the country that if you have fresh green chili that you need to roast it first. There are several ways to do it: You can put it on a pan and broil it, turning it when each side gets black and blistered. You can put it on your outside grill, or my preferred method for just a few chilis at a time, I roast them on the top of my gas range. After blistering the skin, put them into a large resealable bag and let them steam for about 15 minutes then peel off the charred outer skin. To tell if your chili is hot, look at the stem end. The more points it has, the hotter it is. If you don't want you chili hot remove the stems and seeds. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Very good and comforting for a cold day. I used leftover grilled pork loin & no beef. Pretty much followed recipe except no masa, as we wanted it brothy. Served with sour cream and cheese on top with fresh flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This is very tasty as written, but having grown up in NM, agree it's not quite authentic. Stick with pork, don't waste beef tenderloin in this, replace the cumin with chile powder or ancho chile powder. Cumin has NO place in authentic NM food. The masa adds a unique flavor that wheat flour cannot duplicate; don't make that substitution. Most of all, enjoy this tasty NM dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearland Quilter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States