New Mexico Green Chile Breakfast Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
We had these for dinner tonight - it was a cool evening and after a seriously long day we wanted pajama food. They were excellent. I am able to get fresh hatch chilis for about 2-3 weeks in September at our local grocery so I changed things a bit since they weren't the canned pre-roasted type. After chopping the peppers, garlic and onions I quickly fried them in the left over bacon grease before simmering them in beef demi glace (I was out of chicken stock and keep a jar of demi glace in the fridge). Otherwise I followed the directions. I'm sure Mr. Ross is correct and this is a heart attack on a plate but it is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Hatch Chili is the best! I am from New Mexico and this is one of my favorite recipes. I just don't use eggs in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandace Trujillo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
It's interesting to see all of the variants of my recipe, and some of you have some great ideas! There really is no substitute for green chiles from the Hatch region of New Mexico. Several companies, sadly, have been growing what they call "Hatch" but are from Texas, and have virtually no flavor. Bell peppers? Oh, my, no. That's like substituting ketchup for Tabasco sauce. The best frozen chiles are from Bueno (expensive) and Berridge Farms. You can find canned chiles with the "Hatch" brand in most Whole Foods stores, but as the one chef remarked, they will break down a lot faster than the fresh, so add them at the end of your sauce making, once the onions are cooked through. If you become totally addicted to NM Green Chiles (I have other Green Chile recipes) I would recommend buying a bulk box of the fresh chiles in the Fall. They are shipped to your door. You roast them on your bbq, and (using gloves) peel off the charred skins. You can either chop them and freeze containers for later use, or you can keep the chiles whole and put them in freezer bags. I get them here, but there are several companies that ship Hatch chiles every year... http://www.hatch-green-chile.com As for the potatoes, frozen will work, but if you have a food processor with a shredder, go for the fresh, because the pop that fresh has over frozen can't be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
These are to die for. (And they just might kill you). I pretty much grew up in the Hatch Valley and, indeed, I don't think there is anything more addictive than Hatch green chili. On anything. A green bell pepper (although I love them) is not going to cut it here. Google Hatch green chili. There are companies in New Mexico that will be happy to send you some. The canned variety is also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sabrakuy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Normally don't rate a recipe unless I try it as it's written first, but I honestly just used this for the hatch pepper sauce! I made a breakfast casserole and put the sauce both on it and in it and very fun and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Delicious and super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
These didnt have much flavor for me. I couldnt find the chile peppers at my store so I used green bell peppers instead and iadded some slice up jalepano. But to us it was very bland until we added salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Made these for a camping trip! Used sausage,but everything else the same. AWESOME!!! Freeze and use when needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
There's nothing like the flavor of fresh roasted Hatch green chile. Here are two sources for green chile from Albuquerque, NM: Chile Addict http://www.chileaddictstore.com/cas_shop/index.asp Chile Tradition http://www.chiletraditions.com/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
GREAT true Hatch Green Chile mixture. Born and raise in NM (now live in MO) there nothing better than Hatch Green Chile! Canned just doesn't have the same robust flavor as frozen. Take the time and do the fresh potatoes, just added flavor you don't get from the frozen potatoes. We like to just roll them up and eat them on a plate so we can get more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States