New England Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
This is really good. I fry up bacon and sautee the onions and celery in the bacon drippings. The bacon is crumbled and served as a garnish on top. I also use 2 cups of half n half and add milk as needed. I heat the half n half in the microwave and mix in the flour when warm. This helps dissolve the flour and the lumps. I normally do not add peas (kids don't like). I have made it with ham and without and both are really good. One more thing, I add a couple dashes of hot sauce to give it a little more flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I have made this several times. Followed recipe exactly and it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Made this last night. Exactly per recipe instruction except peas. Did not have available and I did not want to venture into wet cold just for that. Family quickly vacuumed this up next to our fireplace. Fabulous tasting soup. Thank you for sharing and can not wait to make a larger batch ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I have been making this recipe since 2008 when I thought that it would be a great way to counter subzero New England temperatures; and may I say it works incredibly well at that. This has been one of my favorite soups and an instant favorite for many friends over the past few years. The only alteration I've ever made is to used either fresh or defrosted broccoli instead of peas since it adds a little more bulk to the soup (plus I'm just not a fan of ham and peas).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Excellent base recipe. After reading reviews, I added two cloves of minced garlic while sauteing the onions. I also used a combination of fresh herbs (rosemary, thyme, parsley & sage -- using more of the rosemary & thyme) and 1/8th teaspoon of paprika. I replaced 1/2 cup of milk with heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This was a wonderful dinner! I used only about half the milk but doubled the chicken stock. Nice thick, hearty potato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing this recipe. All recipes get tweaked by the cook if they are a good cook, right? I added turmeric, about 1/4 tsp for color vividness (is that a word?), as well as 1 tsp minced garlic and 1/4 c fresh parsley, doubled the chicken broth and potatoes and spices, added about 1/4 tsp ginger too. Wow is this fantastic. Great basic recipe to tweak to your tastes! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swedish Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Great soup to warm the soul. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bgoughs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I have been familiar with this site for many years now. This is my first review. I am an experienced cook with two boys ages 21 and almost 17. This recipe is outstanding for soup lovers everywhere. As an experienced cook, I changed a few things ever so slightly, but overall I stuck to the recipe. Fantastic! Thanks a billion for the effort in experimenting to come up with your own version to share with all of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I found this recipe a few years back in a cook book that my step father gave to me. I can't find the cookbook, but was so happy to see the exact same recipe (photo and all) here on Allrecipes. My family loves this soup, especially when it is cold outside. I know it isn't healthy, but some warm, home made buttermilk rolls goes very well with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Creel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States