New England Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
My family really liked this recipe. I did add carrots and used chicken stock instead of water. I also sauteed the sausage in a skillet to get rid of some of the fat before putting it into the oven. Overall, this was very easy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This recipe was really good! Both my husband and I really liked it and I will definitely be making it again. I took previous poster advice and used chicken broth (1 can)and added celery and onions. I also covered it and it took almost an hour to bake. We found it very flavorful, as well as easy and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
Easy to make and taste greats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I use this recipe except I use canned ham patties , with or without cheese , & simply chop it all & fry like you would potatoes (slowly with just a little water in the bottom or the cabbage will burn ), then season with salt & a good bit of ground pepper . Onion or any sort of fresh pepper make great add-ins , as does grated cheese . Out of 6 kids , only 1 wont eat it , the others cant get enough .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIBRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
My husband loved it although I took the advise of all the recipes. I used 1 1/2 cans chicken broth, added two carrots, covered w/ foil and baked for 1 hour. It turned out perfect! Easy! And great on a frigid night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I was surprised that there was so much flavor in this dish. It was super quick to make and tasted awesome. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This turned out delicious! I used Hillshire Farms Lite Kielbasa and cut it up into small cubes. (The photo had me confused. The author says to dice the kielbasa but the photo shows otherwise.) If you dice the kielbasa the flavor comes out. Using Lite kielbasa, I didn't find the dish greasy at all. I added some black pepper, a little bit of garlic powder and a splash of wine. Oh, and I had some baby carrots and turnip laying around so I those in. We loved it! We will definitely make this again. I'm going to try angelhair coleslaw mix (just cabbage) with those bagged, pre-diced potatoes sometime for an easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I loved this recipe on a cold February night. I added carrot, onions, garlic salt, and pepper. I also dissolved a chicken boullion cube in the water before mixing the ingredients together. It had great flavor!! This took longer to cook though, maybe an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I love this recipe and make it often on chilly Sundays. We usually eat it with honey mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Awesome! I took others reviews and modified: Used Healthy Choice Kielbasa. Added 2 carrots and 1/2 red onion. Tossed w/ 2 tsp. of cajun seasoning in bowl. Poured 1.5 c. of chicken broth over mix in pan, then covered with foil. You must bake for 1 hr. for all to be nice & tender. Very yummy , and super healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States