New England Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I used 16 oz. coleslaw mix, a coarsely chopped onion, 4 medium potatoes and Healthy Choice Kielbasa diced in one inch pieces. Substituted chicken stock for water and baked covered for 50-60 minutes. Served with mustard on the side. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I loved this recipe on a cold February night. I added carrot, onions, garlic salt, and pepper. I also dissolved a chicken boullion cube in the water before mixing the ingredients together. It had great flavor!! This took longer to cook though, maybe an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This receipe was easy to prepare but somewhat bland. Should definitely be covered (not mentioned in recipe)to prevent cabbage from drying and tips scorching. Ended up taking it out of the oven and cooking on stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
My family really liked this recipe. I did add carrots and used chicken stock instead of water. I also sauteed the sausage in a skillet to get rid of some of the fat before putting it into the oven. Overall, this was very easy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I can't really figure out why so many people left low ratings. There are no spices in the recipe so if you don't like bland food ...... spice it up!!!! I left out the taters and added carrots, onions, fresh thyme and 3 cloves of chopped garlic. I also replaced the water with veggie broth. A SUPER EASY AND YUMMY DINNER!! BTW - we cooked 45 min and it was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
The directions are misleading, as 1 cup of water was not nearly enough. When I checked the dish's progress half way through, much of the cabbage was a bit burnt, and the potatoes not done at all. I added water and waited a half hour, and the potatoes were barely tender. Next time, I'll try this in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I liked this one-pot dinner---starch, veggie, & meat all in one. However, it was very, very bland...even sprinkled liberally with my husband's spice mixture! Basic salt & pepper also helped alot! But that being said, it is one of those dishes that can easily be customized to taste, spices, ingredients. I subbed sliced carrots for the cabbage because I didn't want to run to the store & had carrots on hand. I will make this again with cabbage. (I know, I know, change a major ingred. in the recipe and still rate it...as is it is probably a 3 star recipe but I bumped it to 4 because of my subsitition). PS Also added more water than called for (about a cup more)and I cooked on 350 for about an hour. I added the sausage in the last 30 min. so that it wouldn't be too dry or burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
This recipe was easy to make. To prevent burning or drying the cabbage and keeping the cooking time within range, put foil over the baking dish. I used a "light and healthy" kielbasa to lessen the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
The flavors are subtle, but very good. I would suggest a bit of sour cream on top. I sprinkled a little garlic, oregano, salt, and pepper on top before putting into the oven. Also, it took an hour to cook - maybe covering with foil will help. This recipe is sinfully easy and makes a great amount of food. Perfect for the working woman who depends on leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I use this recipe except I use canned ham patties , with or without cheese , & simply chop it all & fry like you would potatoes (slowly with just a little water in the bottom or the cabbage will burn ), then season with salt & a good bit of ground pepper . Onion or any sort of fresh pepper make great add-ins , as does grated cheese . Out of 6 kids , only 1 wont eat it , the others cant get enough .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIBRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States