New England Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Per other suggestions, I dissolved a chicken bouillon cube in the cup of (warm) water. I also added an onion, a small apple, a generous sprinkling of black pepper, and half a package of hot dogs which we had in the fridge. I covered the dish and baked it for about 45 minutes. My husband and son loved this casserole--they ate three helpings each. My husband even said the flavor was "phenomenal."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather K.
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
We've made this a couple of times now and love it. Following other reviewers' suggestions, I brown and drain the kielbasa before adding to the casserole. I also added salt & lots of freshly ground pepper. Then I pour 2 cups of chicken broth over everything rather than 1 cup of water. I use my stoneware casserole & lid to bake for an hour. With my changes, I'd give it 5 stars, but I think as it is would be too bland for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was a simple recipe to put together, but probably not one I would make again. I substituted chicken broth for the water, put all the ingredients in the baking dish and poured the broth over top. I also seasoned with salt and pepper. It wasn't really good or bad, just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This recipe was really good! Both my husband and I really liked it and I will definitely be making it again. I took previous poster advice and used chicken broth (1 can)and added celery and onions. I also covered it and it took almost an hour to bake. We found it very flavorful, as well as easy and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Awesome! I took others reviews and modified: Used Healthy Choice Kielbasa. Added 2 carrots and 1/2 red onion. Tossed w/ 2 tsp. of cajun seasoning in bowl. Poured 1.5 c. of chicken broth over mix in pan, then covered with foil. You must bake for 1 hr. for all to be nice & tender. Very yummy , and super healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
My husband loved it although I took the advise of all the recipes. I used 1 1/2 cans chicken broth, added two carrots, covered w/ foil and baked for 1 hour. It turned out perfect! Easy! And great on a frigid night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Quick, easy and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Too much for a 9 x13 pan. The potatoes were not cooked even after an hour. Some of the cabbage was burned on the top but that was okay. Very bland tasting. We won't use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
The directions are misleading, as 1 cup of water was not nearly enough. When I checked the dish's progress half way through, much of the cabbage was a bit burnt, and the potatoes not done at all. I added water and waited a half hour, and the potatoes were barely tender. Next time, I'll try this in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This tasted good.....but....after an hour of cooking, potatos were still not quite done. After an hour I had to add more water, cover with foil and cooked 45 more minutes. I expected to have this meal ready within an hour.... maybe the potatos should have been chopped smaller...mine were 1" to 1 1/2" cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States