New England Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was really delicious, I doubled it because I wanted leftovers, I also added extra flour because it wasn't thick enough, I did use the optional heavy cream, tasted it before deciding it would be a lot richer and it brought it from a 4 to a 5 star. This isn't for you if you're watching your weight but as a splurge it's perfect !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Very good. Even my picky eaters enjoyed it. I added extra potatoes. Not a drop left in the pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Somerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
My family really enjoyed this chowder. As others suggested I doubled the recipe, glad I did, it disappeared fast and I can't imagine not at least doubling it! I also took another suggestion and added red wine vinegar, about 3 tbls. to the doubled recipe. Fantastic! Will file this one in the recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Very easy and quick. The only complaint I have is the amount of bacon grease used. My husband thought it was great and had a slight steak taste, I thought it overpowered the clam flavor. I'm sure I'll make it again, I'll just adjust for my tastes, and reserve only a tablespoon of the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I have never made clam chowder before. My husband loves it. We always get some in a bread bowl when in San Fransico. I made this and he said It was the best he had ever eaten. WOW I was amazed. The only thing I did different was add celery to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2-4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was outstanding and easy to make! I wouldn't change a thing. I wasn't sure about adding the liquid from the canned clams but did so and am glad. I made it a day ahead and added the cream when I reheated. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mathgirl64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Long Neck, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Unless you eat like a bird, be sure to at least double this. As written, it doesn't produce much volume. The only real change I made was adding all of the bacon to the soup. Of course, it added significant bacon flavor, which was fine with me. I used turkey bacon and cooked it in the microwave. It produced almost zero bacon grease when cooked that way, so make sure you cook the bacon conventionally, so there is enough bacon grease. The flavor of this chowder is spectacular. Thanks, Chief2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
super easy to make. will make again in the winter months
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBOEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
great recipe! I made it for my dad who is ill with cancer and he ate every bite... After reading the reviews, there was someone who wanted thicker; in that case you could at any time during the cooking time, add some gravy flour a little at a time till you get the thickness you desire. As for the juice in the caned clams; it is better discarded, as some have preservatives such as MSG and no one wants that in there mix. Great job! Nan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Excellent-easy to prepare and great to eat. I would make it again without hesitation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States