New England Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I thought this was excellent, it was my first time making clam chowder. I did change a few things such as I just used the juices from the canned clams, also I doubled the flour, which in the end made it way too thick, stew like so I just added in more half and half until I got it back to my desired thickness, I also doubled the bacon and stired it into the soup, added 1/2 tsp of thyme and paparika. lots of salt & pepper for my taste buds!! was excellent I am about to take it over to my dads to see if it passes the test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
A bit too much potato. It's OK, but I've had much better. I've made it exactly as directed, but definitely needs more clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CrdsGrl
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Have made this several times and found that more flour coating for the potatoes will help with the thickening of the chowder, or mix a little cornstarch afterward until desired consistancy. I also put in 1 tbl. of red wine vinegar and it gave it that final touch. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrdsGrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Excellent! To me there is never a reason to buy canned clam chowder. This is easy and delicious. It is absolutely fine to use whole milk and a dash of half-and-half. It will be thinner, but that's what my family calls "homemade chowda". This version is the more authentic "restaurant chowda". Both are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This was pretty good. I do prefer my chowder much thicker and this turned out more like soup. Will use more flour next time. I need to keep looking for a good brand of canned clams. Tried two so far and neither was very good. Hubby loved this, but agreed it should be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Though very easy to make, the flavor was overwhelmingly of potato and bacon. I could barely taste clam. I thought it tasted boring. I ended up throwing in some canned corn niblets and sliced crimini mushrooms and turned it into some other sort of chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
My husband loved this soup. It was really easy/quick to make, so I love it too ;). The only change I made was to use a little extra bacon and add it directly to the soup instead of uing it for the top. Fast, Easy & Good = 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Love it with the bacon.I added carrots and celery to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Very good, very simple New England Clam Chowder recipe. Has a great flavor. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States