New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
perfect! added 3 cans of clams (6.5 oz each) and all the juice from them, 2 cups of half n half then 1 cup of cream for thickness and mixed up a little roux to help thicken as well. was still really soupy but the flavor was awesome. i only wish i had a sourdough bowl to eat it out of. finally some leftovers i can look forward to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Added 2 more cans of clam but other than that, it is perfect! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I am cooking for my family using the Feingold diet, and was able to do so with with the basic ingredients this recipe called for, and it was AWESOME! My husband said it was the best he ever had and we lived on Long Island, NY for most of our lives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ishiluv
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I made it exactly as the instructions said and I found it to be a tad too... gloopy. I haven't tried it since, but I'll probably try one more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ishiluv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manvel, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
The process is good, and the taste is spot on to what I've tasted in New England. I just cooked the potatoes a little longer than directed. Also use all of the clam juice as it wont come out tasting clammy enough. I like my soups a little thinner, but if you want a thicker texture, I would sift in maybe two or three tablespoons of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
The flavor is spot on, but the problem is the consistency for sure. It was very watery, without signs of improving until i added 2 tablespoons of cornstarch. THEN, it was perfectly chunky and creamy. I cooked the potatoes with clam juice instead of water, and covered the pot for quicker cooking. I also used 2 cups half and half and 1 cup heavy cream. I used ALL the clam juice. Chopped fresh cilantro for a little color and flavor. A BIG TIME hit at my dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhythmixoul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was delicious! I used 6 slices of bacon (you can never have too much bacon, and my slices were thin) and added celery (I had it on hand and figured it wouldn't hurt). I may have also used closer to 3 cups of potatoes instead of 4 (I rarely measure). Other than that, I stuck to the recipe, and was very pleased with the results. I served this in a bread bowl with a salad on the side, and my husband and I went back for seconds. Definitely give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This is a great recipe with one exception. It needs more clams and possibly more potato. Everyone loved it but asked where the clams were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was a very good, quick, weeknight soup. If I were making it for company or a potluck, I would want a slightly richer clam chowder. But still, this is quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coplay, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slatington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Clam chowder in my area (San Francisco Bay Area) is a highly regarded and diligently researched food that has about as many different "great" recipes as it has simple (& intricate) variations. That said, without getting into a "add a touch of dry white wine instead of a measure of your water" or "put in less pepper and let your guests decide what they want in their individual servings" argument, this is an excellent started recipe. My brother makes the very best crab cioppino I have even encountered; one, because it is all crab, and two, because it is full of garlic and cheap red wine (Carlo Rossi Burgundy-or as mom called it, "Rosco Carli") and is served with fresh, local sourdough bread with our family recipe for garlic bread (garlic, lots of butter, fresh oregano, a tad of fresh basil, some balsamic vinegar and sprinkles of Parmesan cheese and baked at 400 degrees just until the top is brown-outer crust crisp and inner soft and lovely!!!)... I digress... we know good local seafood specialties and love them: this is a really good started chowder recipe with all the potential to add to if you want to make it your own. Like barbecue sauce and spaghetti sauce, any good cook likes to add their own special "unknowns" to a recipe to get their personal 'scent' on it. A great quote, "Barbequists put secret ingredients in their sauce for the same reason dogs on trees" says it all. You want to say "THIS IS MINE!" Love it or "pee" on it. It will be good! What could be better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaitiura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Granada, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States