New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is a good starter recipe but it is way too runny and not much flavor. I reduce the liquid and double the clams. Also add more bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This recipe is great!!! The only thing we do different is to add more clams but that is just because it is our preference. Recipe is great just the way it is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I made changes to the basic recipe based on other reviews and put my own spin on it. I really liked the result and next time I'm even going to make my own bread bowls to dish the soup into. The changes I made were to add the butter at the same time as the onion and after a minute or two add in about 2-3 tbsp of flour. Once the things were incorporated I added a can of evaporated milk which was 12oz along with the water which I heated first before adding. I seasoned it then with salt, pepper, and a dash or two each of garlic powder, thyme, dill, basil, parsley, and coriander. I added in the potatoes and slow simmered everything. After 20 minutes I added 3 cans of clams along with all the juice and the half and half. I slow cooked everything for another 10-15 min. It came out wonderfully creamy and was a very good chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I made this on Sunday for my Super Bowl party and I followed the advice of some other reviewers and cooked the potatoes in clam juice instead of water and used 1 1/4 cup of whipping cream instead of all half and half. Everyone who had some at my party loved it!! I'm so excited; the recipe is so easy to make, I'm sure I'll do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was easy to make and was every bit as good as I hoped. My family loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I made this soup last night and it was fantastic! It is definitely not a very thick chowder but delicious none the less. The only difference I made was using clam juice instead of water and added more minced clams just because of personal preference. Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maine, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
We all loved this. I used turkey bacon, used only about 1/2 cp of onion, 2 cups of water, 2 cloves of garlic, 3 cans of clams, and I forgot to add the butter. I used all the liquid from the clams and added about a tablespoon of flour to the clam juice to help it thicken up. The kids ate two bowls and made me promise to make it again! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Illinois, USA
Living In: Odell, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was a good base recipe. I used chicken broth in place of the water. Since most canned clams are salty, I eliminated the salt. Added finely chopped celery with the onion. If you want to thicken the broth, be sure to do it BEFORE adding the drained clams. Once the clams are added the soup should be gently heated - definitely don't let the soup boil or heat too long or the clams become chewy. Added minced fresh parsley with the clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I love this recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
A meal in a bowl! Yum! I tweaked a few things only because I didn't have all the ingredients. I cooked the onions and Bacon Bits (Imitation) in the butter. Used a steamer bag to cook the potatoe dices for 10 minutes while the onions were cooking. I did NOT add any water but used all the clam juice instead. I have a Jersey cow so just used 3 cups of whole milk with the cream still in it, instead of using 1/2 and 1/2. Oh, and I left the peels on the potatoes. It was a huge success and there is no more for leftovers. :( Served with fried cornbread topped with homemade butter and honey on it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States