New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This was a very good recipe. I made a few changes to take it to 5 stars. I doubled the bacon and added 3 diced celery ribs. I added about 1/4 cup fresh minced parsley and 2 garlic cloves. I drained the clam juice into a measuring cup and had 2 cups of liquid. I substituted this for the amount of water in the recipe. I used lactose free half and half to the amount of 4 cups. (I added 3 and held back 1 cup) I used the butter to make a roux with flour (about 4 tablespoons)in a saute' pan. I added that extra cup of cream and let it cook about 30 seconds. I blended this into the soup and it thickened up perfectly. I also added a few shakes of red wine vinegar. We really did enjoy the soup and it was not hard to put together at all. Will definitely be making this again with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
this is my go to recipe! I follow it pretty much EXACTLY except that i drain the clams and use ALL of the juice. I also sauteed the bacon... then added the onion... then added 1/4 cup flour so that it would thicken the soup. then I added the clam juice and boiled the potatoes till they were tender. IT WAS PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I omitted the water, used the clam juice and used 4 cups half and half and boiled the potatoes for 15 mins before adding to bacon and onion. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoonDoggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
A good start, but not quite there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamiethelibrarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
turned out very well. the kids ate it all (rare for them). I really liked this version. I added two filets of thin white fish (cubed) to it to make it more of a seafood chowder. I really like this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Not having made clam chowder before, I was a little nervous about making this. However, it turned out amazingly. Brought it to an event, and now everyone who was there makes it at home, as well. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I was very skeptical when my fiance (who is from New Hampshire) found this recipe and wanted to try it. I never thought we would find anything like what he used to get back home. We both thought it was the BEST clam chowder we had every had! His only complaint was that he is used to thicker chowder but that is an easy adjustment. I can see how adding a few things might make this an even better recipe than it already is, but for the first try we made it as is. Thanks for sharing and giving my future hubby a taste of home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I have used this recipe a couple of times with a few changes. 1. I am not a fan of Bacon so use Salt Pork makes a difference in the taste in my opinion 2. Instead of Water I use Clam Broth Cup for Cup I think it gives the finished product much more flavor. 3. I also use less onion and I use a food processor. 4. I also use a couple of bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
It was perfect! The only change I made was I used 1 can of minced clams and 1 can of whole baby clams. I used half of the liquid from the two cans. It was full of flavor and clams
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
My first time making this. My 10 year old loves Clam Chowder. She gave me a 8 on it. I will take it. I am 61 and just started to try cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States