New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I did Like the recipe But i also did as a few others...I cooked the chopped onions and diced bacon in a few tablespoons of melted butter, then added a couple of tablespoons of flour thus creating a roux. Otherwise, I followed the recipe, but omitted water and substituted more clam juice instead, doubled the potatoes. After the potatoes were cooked through in the clam juice, I reduced the heat to a low simmer, then I added twice the amount of clams (I used 1 8 0z can of minced clams and 28 once baby whole) (servings for 12) Also I added 3/4 cup of diced Portobella mushrooms.The mushrooms were added when potatoes were almost done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I too found this recipe to be too watery but good. I tried it again useing less milk added more potatoes and 2 cans of mushrooms and some powdered garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The basic was really yummy but we added less potatoes, more bacon, garlic, mushrooms, celery, red pepper and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
this recipe is a great base. this was my first try at clam chowder and I would omit water,and replace with clam juice. I had to thicken. I used cornstarch instead of flour. all in all the chowder was bland.but not to say it can be improved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orange, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This soup is great! The whole family loved it. I had to thicken it up by taking out a small amount of liquid & whisking in some flour . Then added this " slurry" back in the soup. The result was Perfection!! I will be making this again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I did what Texas2step added to the original recipe and I pretty much nailed it. AND, I too am a New England Clam Chowder snob. It was lovely. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Great base recipe! The only changes I made was using chicken broth instead of water and instead of 3 cups of half and half I used 2 and 1 cup of heavy cream. I also added 3 cans of chopped clams including the juice. Before adding in the cream I tossed a couple spoonfuls of flour into the potatoes and broth after the potatoes were tender and whisked it together to thicken the soup a bit. It came out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I loved this recipe but changed and added a few things. First I used veggie broth instead of water. I like extra bacon so I used 6 slices. I also threw in 1.5 cups of finely chopped celery. A healthy sprinkle of dried Thyme, Parsley, and a bay leaf. I also minced some fresh garlic (2 cloves) and added that when cooking the onion. Other than that I stuck to the recipe and it was delightful. My boyfriend ate three bowls of it and said it was a keeper for our dinner rotation. PS shopper tip: I used chopped canned clams because they sell them cheap at Costo. I just used my food processor to make them minced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I view many clam chowder recipes. including this one. My grandmother ran rooming homes in Portland, Maine and clam chowder was one of her listed meals. While I have tried many parts of clam chowder ingredients I have some favorites. Salt pork, fat removed and fried to well done cannot be substituted. Clam broth should be the only liquid for cooking. I use large amounts of onion but cooked to blend well. The chowder must have LOTS of clams and potatoes. While I love cream, I lighten with regular milk and add dehydrated potatoes to thicken a little. I am still trying to find the "secret" ingredient that won the California clam chowder cook off using a seafood enhancement as her winner. In any event, I just made a batch and thinking about what I will do with the next. Tom Brackett
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States