New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Personally I thought adding more clam juice was the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ellie162
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Wow wow wow!! This tastes just like my favorite clam chowder at Outback Steakhouse. This is definiately tastes like New England Clam Chowder. I should know because I've lived in Boston all my life! I don't trust all clam chowders because they've tasted too bland, too watery or too dry. This is perfect. My niece who doesn't like clam chowder loved this! My husband insisted on having it twice a week! LOL! I did take some advice from others. I used clam juice instead of water (added 1/2 cup more afterwards from canned clams). I added 3 cans of minced clams and 1 can of chopped clams. I used lots diced red potatoes(cooked almost 20 minutes covered, stirred it every 5 minutes). Also added lots of black pepper and parsley flakes. The first time I did it I thought it was a bit too watery for me so I put a tablespoon of flour at the end and let it slightly boil for about 5 minutes or so while stirring at the same time. Did not add any salt. PERFECT! If u know the taste of real NE Clam Chowder, you'll love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Best Clam Chowder Ever!! As suggested by a previous review, I cooked the potatoes for about 20 minutes ( covered). Also, I dissolved 2 spoons of flour in the clam's juice (which is cold, that's the only way flour gets dissolved ). I also added all the clam juice instead of half , and OMG!!! it came out amazing!! I was afraid to make it because the only clam chowder soup that my husband and I like is the one from Uno's Restaurant , but this one it came out much better. I can't still believe how good this recipe was. Thanks a lot!! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.k

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Excellent base for a chowder. I used lobster, home canned bar clams and fresh mussels. I added the mussels at the same time as I added the potatoes and water. The rest was added at the same time as it calls in the recipe. I get rave reviews evey time I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I changed it up a little but kept it basically the same. I used about 4 oz of diced salt pork instead of bacon, and used 1 1/3 cups of clam juice give or take instead of water, and didn't add more at the end. I also put in 2 bay leaves while cooking the potatoes. Instead of half and half, I used 3 cups of heavy cream, and instead of 10 of minced clams, I used 4 6.5 oz cans of chopped clams. I'm from Boston, and this came out amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xRick64x

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middleton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I used about five cups of potato cooked very tender, then I "mashed" some to thicken the chowder a bit. Also mixed a couple tbs of corn starch into the clam juice and used it to thicken the broth some more... it was excellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Very good. I used chicken broth in place of the water, and cubed ham in place of the bacon, but it was great, I also used whole baby clams one 10 oz can and all the juice. Like many of the others I added about 2 1/2 T of flour to the pan when cooking the onion, made for a nice thick chowder. Served in Bread Bowl will cook again Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was incredible and very easy the only thing I added was a portuguese hot chourice it added some zip. It was tastly and I served it at a dinner party first time I made it and my guests wanted recipe! They said was best ever. Thanks for submittng
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Very tasty. I had to adjust the recipe somewhat: (a) I had 2 6.5 oz cans of clams. I added more liquids then ended up thickening it up a bit. I also used some thyme and celery (as a Jamaican I'm VERY into lots of seasoning!) This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
wow!! i loved it.. im on a diet so i used 1/2 the cream and used 2% milk and instead of bacon i used real bacon bits and used low fat butter.. it was so delicious my husband wants me to make it at least once a week.. wow what it does for the taste buds.. lol.. who says low fat has to be YUCKY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States