New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
super thin - unless you have all night to cook it down, use some flour or cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Delicious. Tastes just like this restaurant in Boston. After reading reviews, I added a little more flour (I like thick chowder) and let the potatoes cook covered. My entire family ate this wanting seconds and thirds. Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcake_cute_foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I am another New England girl. This tastes just like the good stuff with a few changes. I cooked the potatoes in a different pot with water. I then cooked the bacon and onions and added a few tbsp of flour to make a roux. My cans of minced clams were 6oz so I used three. I drained the clam juice into a cup and it measured to about 2 cups. When the flour was cooked I slowly added the 2 cups of clam juice. Threw the clams, half and half, and drained potatoes in and let it thicken up. No need for butter(the bacon fat and half and half are enough). It was wonderful to bring a little piece of home here to Illinois. Husband adored it! Every time we visit home he always has clam chowda in a bread bowl at Quincy Market. He said that this rates in his top bowls of clam chowda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was excellent and as good as our favorite fine dining restaurant, The Lobster Shoppe in Tacoma! I did not change the ingredients or amounts. I boiled my potatoes in another pan using slightly more water to cover the potatoes better and left uncovered as instructed, and did boil them until they were very soft and the water was cloudy-ish with the starch. I added this to the bacon and onions after making a roux with about 2 T of flour. Then followed the recipe as instructed. Wow, great soup and the whole family can't wait for me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camas Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
The clam chowder was GREAT! However, I did follow a few things other reviews had mentioned. Added an additional can with all of its juices and a few tablespoons of flour to thicken it up! Yummy and very tasty with buttered sour dough bread on a cold and wet winter evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Personally I thought adding more clam juice was the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ellie162
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Wow wow wow!! This tastes just like my favorite clam chowder at Outback Steakhouse. This is definiately tastes like New England Clam Chowder. I should know because I've lived in Boston all my life! I don't trust all clam chowders because they've tasted too bland, too watery or too dry. This is perfect. My niece who doesn't like clam chowder loved this! My husband insisted on having it twice a week! LOL! I did take some advice from others. I used clam juice instead of water (added 1/2 cup more afterwards from canned clams). I added 3 cans of minced clams and 1 can of chopped clams. I used lots diced red potatoes(cooked almost 20 minutes covered, stirred it every 5 minutes). Also added lots of black pepper and parsley flakes. The first time I did it I thought it was a bit too watery for me so I put a tablespoon of flour at the end and let it slightly boil for about 5 minutes or so while stirring at the same time. Did not add any salt. PERFECT! If u know the taste of real NE Clam Chowder, you'll love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Best Clam Chowder Ever!! As suggested by a previous review, I cooked the potatoes for about 20 minutes ( covered). Also, I dissolved 2 spoons of flour in the clam's juice (which is cold, that's the only way flour gets dissolved ). I also added all the clam juice instead of half , and OMG!!! it came out amazing!! I was afraid to make it because the only clam chowder soup that my husband and I like is the one from Uno's Restaurant , but this one it came out much better. I can't still believe how good this recipe was. Thanks a lot!! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.k

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Excellent base for a chowder. I used lobster, home canned bar clams and fresh mussels. I added the mussels at the same time as I added the potatoes and water. The rest was added at the same time as it calls in the recipe. I get rave reviews evey time I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States