New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I also used clam juice rather than water to boil the potatoes. I added 2 tbls. of flour and 2 tbls. butter to the bacon and onions after they were cooked to make a roux. I didn't add any more butter at the end. I added 1/4 teas. nutmeg when everything was combined. Was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I changed it a little but none the less it came out awesome!!! I cooked the potatoes and onion in butter instead of bacon fat and added celery as well. And I threw in the whole thing of half and half which was four cups. My family of picky eaters LOVED it!! Definately will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
My family loved this it was easy and great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This recipe is fantastic!! I had never made clam chowder but this made it easy and a family hit. 2nd time I made it I did add about 2 tablespoons of flour to slightly thicken it and the rest of the clam juice. It was a great addition. Make sure you cook the bacon very crips otherwise it will get chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
We LOVED this after making a few changes. We served it with sourdough bread. DELICIOUS!! 1) Cook the bacon and onion with a tablespoon of butter. 2) Add 2 tablespoons of flour to the onion and bacon mixture. 3) I cut the potatoes into sticks rather than cubed them and cooked in the full amount of water, covered. 4) I added some thyme and used all of the clam juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arianne Torres

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I use All Recipes all the time. This was not a very good recipe. The soup was not thick enough and it didn't have any taste. I was very disappointed in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa U

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
My family loved this.. however they all wished it was thicker. Next time I make this I will add some corn starch to thicken it up. But the flavor is awesome and it is so simply to make..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very rich but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I have been using this same basic recipe my whole life. Hearty enough for a main meal. I had a big meaty ham bone left from the holidays. I cut fat and meat off of that and substituted for the bacon. Being on the Chesapeake Bay I can get big chowder clams for about $2/doz. I steam them up and then use the water from the clams and from the steam pot as a substitute for the water in this recipe. I cut up my clams in larger pieces and still add the canned clams suggested in the recipe. Add extra potatoes or put in some instant mashed potatoe powder to thicken as needed. I sometimes add celery early on so it is soft and adds flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gunpowder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Very yummy! This was our Christmas Eve fare. I used instant potatoes to thicken this soup. I also used 1.5 cups clam juice from the clams instead of water, and added 6 cans of clams. I think I'd like celery in there with the onion as well, but overall this was quick and easy. And everyone loved it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States