New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
OMG!! This was amazing. I took the advise of the other reviewers and cooked the potatoes covered for 15 mins. I also substituted the water for clam juice, added fresh mushrooms and used green onions. My friend and I could not stop eating it. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Five stars! Thanks Debbie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I made the recipe to the T, but used fresh clams I steamed and 1 cup of clam juice from a jar with 1/2 cup water. When I put in the half and half I noticed it wasn't thickening so I added a can of white potatoes and smooshed them against the side of the pot, the result was delicious! I am keeping this recipe, thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This caught my eye by how simple it seemed. I served it at Thanksgiving and EVERYONE loved it, even those who do not like clams! I will be taking it to all my Holiday parties and pot-lucks! Thank you for such a simple, quick and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I nuked the cubed potatoes to speed things along. Substitute clam broth for the water. Just right with a shake of chipotle in your bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This recipe is so simple! My husband could not believe that I made this soup in such a short amount of time. We went through TWO sourdough loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dalionness

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was very good, but I wish it had been thicker. Next time I make it I will add a couple of tablespoons of flour to the rendered bacon fat in the pan to make a roux. Also, instead of using all water to cook the potatoes, I will use the rest of the clam juice from the canned clams. I felt that it needed a little something extra as far as flavor, and that might have done it. As it was, a little extra salt and pepper improved it tremendously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I made it just like the recipe said, except I used clam juice instead of water. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I like the base recipe but I added 24 oz of clams and used clam juice instead of water. Next time I will add more potatoes to it for added thickness. I did add 2Tbsp of dissolved cornstarch to thicken the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Excellent chowder! I took the suggestions and included the clam juice. Diced the potatoes small and cooked covered, they were fine. I did add a can of oysters. I like this better then the recipie for Ivars clam chowder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I took the advice of other posters and boiled the potatoes seperatley I also used clam juice instead of water it turned out wonderful and the whole family enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States