New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
We LOVED this after making a few changes. We served it with sourdough bread. DELICIOUS!! 1) Cook the bacon and onion with a tablespoon of butter. 2) Add 2 tablespoons of flour to the onion and bacon mixture. 3) I cut the potatoes into sticks rather than cubed them and cooked in the full amount of water, covered. 4) I added some thyme and used all of the clam juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JiNKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I use All Recipes all the time. This was not a very good recipe. The soup was not thick enough and it didn't have any taste. I was very disappointed in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa U

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
My family loved this.. however they all wished it was thicker. Next time I make this I will add some corn starch to thicken it up. But the flavor is awesome and it is so simply to make..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very rich but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I have been using this same basic recipe my whole life. Hearty enough for a main meal. I had a big meaty ham bone left from the holidays. I cut fat and meat off of that and substituted for the bacon. Being on the Chesapeake Bay I can get big chowder clams for about $2/doz. I steam them up and then use the water from the clams and from the steam pot as a substitute for the water in this recipe. I cut up my clams in larger pieces and still add the canned clams suggested in the recipe. Add extra potatoes or put in some instant mashed potatoe powder to thicken as needed. I sometimes add celery early on so it is soft and adds flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gunpowder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Very yummy! This was our Christmas Eve fare. I used instant potatoes to thicken this soup. I also used 1.5 cups clam juice from the clams instead of water, and added 6 cans of clams. I think I'd like celery in there with the onion as well, but overall this was quick and easy. And everyone loved it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is a great, yet simple recipe. I used 6-7 cans of clams instead of two, and got rave reviews! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
OMG!! This was amazing. I took the advise of the other reviewers and cooked the potatoes covered for 15 mins. I also substituted the water for clam juice, added fresh mushrooms and used green onions. My friend and I could not stop eating it. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Five stars! Thanks Debbie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I made the recipe to the T, but used fresh clams I steamed and 1 cup of clam juice from a jar with 1/2 cup water. When I put in the half and half I noticed it wasn't thickening so I added a can of white potatoes and smooshed them against the side of the pot, the result was delicious! I am keeping this recipe, thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This caught my eye by how simple it seemed. I served it at Thanksgiving and EVERYONE loved it, even those who do not like clams! I will be taking it to all my Holiday parties and pot-lucks! Thank you for such a simple, quick and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States