New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I can say I love the Clam Chowder from another Allrecipes.com user who uses red wine vinegar! OMG it just makes the meal. I even throw in a tablespoon to the Campbells Chunky or Progresso canned soup just to get that tastel Some how that tiny little bit of vinegar makes a huge difference. Never throw out the clam juice! Use it in your chowder. It makes the flavor that much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I was so disappointed :( Definitely have to make a roux to thicken it. Added a little worcestershire sauce like someone else recommended. Wish I had boiled the potatoes in clam juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is my first time making clam chowder.....and the kids' loved it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjjquan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I've made this recipe exactly as written and LOVED it. I will add more clams as a personal preference next time, although it was fine as is. Thank you Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
If you want a "watery" New England Clam Chowder, this is the recipe for you. It is not creamy at all. It is a watery soup....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This was amazing! When I cooked the onions, I added 3 T butter and 3T flour to make a roux. Added the water and 1% milk into the potatoes on low temp. I also used turkey bacon and at the end I added thinly shredded carrots for color. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This was a good recipe. I also added all the clam juice and used some juice with a little cornstarch for thickness. Kids loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I didn't make this recipe but I read reviews and agree with a lot of other users. Definitely use the clam juice, why more water than needed if you have flavoring available? If using whole clams, steam and use the broth. In addition to onion I also use celery, and cooked them in the bacon grease. added thyme to mixture then added flour to make the roux for thickening. Also use parsley, hint of tabasco, and worcestershire sauce. thicken to desired consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I omitted the water and added a little corn starch to thicken. I also added 2 extra slices of chopped bacon and some parsley. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red_Hott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I also used clam juice rather than water to boil the potatoes. I added 2 tbls. of flour and 2 tbls. butter to the bacon and onions after they were cooked to make a roux. I didn't add any more butter at the end. I added 1/4 teas. nutmeg when everything was combined. Was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States