New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Added a bit of celery but overall, excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Absolutely the very best chowder ever! No need to change anything it is perfect as is. I will also be using the base recipe for my potato soup in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Beaver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I have not tried this exact recipe, but the one I use is as close to that as you can get. I grew up in New England where we had clam chowder. I moved south and the first time I had clam chowder , all I could think of was wallpaper paste!!!Do not like thick clam chowder. I like clam chowder with lots of clams and clam broth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
It's a fantastic recipe. As other reviewers suggested, I cooked potato separately until ready and added flour to the soup to thicken. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Best New England Clam Chowder I have had EVER.....MOVE OVER CANNED STUFF, this recipes is easy and economical. I did not have half and half on hand so I substituted 1 cup of heavy cream and 2 cups of milk still came out great, I also like my soup thicker so I added a teaspoon of corn starch to the milk to thicken it and I used 16 OZ of fresh chopped clams in its own liquid from the fresh fish section in my supermarket and poured the entire liquid in it was amazing. Great flavor of bacon, clams and the sweetness of the caramelized onions, this has become a family favored soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bari, Puglia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I just made this soup and I give it 5 stars for being very tasty along with a simple amount of ingredients. I did make the roux separate with butter so it has a buttery flavor. Can't wait to go eat some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Antale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Very Watery, I suggest following the most helpful recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nuevo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I am not crazy about clam chowder, but my husband loves it. Made it for him and he went back for seconds and finished the left overs the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena W.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Thin...needs less water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I made the soup using the suggested clam juice instead of water, but was still disappointed it is pretty bland. I will look for a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States