New Duchess Spice Cake with Maple Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This was a good recipe that translated well to cupcakes. The full recipe made about 18 regular-sized cupcakes, and LOTS of frosting. I used less than half of it. The frosting was the best part, though it was slightly greasy and shortening-y. I would make it again, but with a different frosting with maple added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CyndeG
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I am not a big fan of spice cake, but this is very good. The frosting is awesome. I make this for special occasions. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CyndeG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
this is to die for! All I can say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I made this cake with the Cream Cheese Frosting II instead of the maple frosting and doubled the cinnamon. The taste of the cake was excellent, but like others have mentioned, it came out too dry. I think next time I will try sifting the flour before measuring it to get less dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
I got to admit, this was a pretty good cake. The whole process took about 4 hours. The cake itself was pretty good (although more spice would have made it amazing)and the frosting was nice and thick. My only problems though were that the frosting was way too sweet and that there wasnt enough maple flavor. I'll try this recipe again, albeit next time with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
I was really bummed. This cake took me half a day to cook, cool and frost. And it turned out very dry. The frosting was too sweet and I'm not sure maple frosting belongs on a spice cake anyway. The cake itself has a good flavor but it was much too dry. Will be sticking with the box mix unless I find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Very yummy, and easy to make. I thought the buttercream frosting was a bit too sweet, so will probably try cream cheese frosting next time, but it is a fabulous spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Great, great, great....My husband loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Came out dry, and not my favorite. It was pretty easy though, and might been a bigger hit had it been more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Very VERY good spice cake. My family loves the frosting. Best when served chilled! It really was not that hard to make either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States