New Duchess Spice Cake with Maple Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
This is a very nice cake. I will cook it a bit less next time as it was a bit dry. I used a 9x13 pan and cooked it 40 minutes. There is plenty of icing and it could be halved for those who do not care for the sweetness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
Delicious!! Best I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
Excellent cake with a good texture. I used cream cheese frosting instead, and it was great. I also added more of the spices, plus a little ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I increased the spices by about 1/2 teaspoon each on this recipe and added a teaspoon of ginger and it was great, though maybe a bit dry. Tasted better (and moister) the next day. As for the frosting, I made it but tossed it out and used a butter-based caramel frosting recipe. It's just a matter of preference, but I thought the shortening in the frosting tasted greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2001
I can honestly say that this is the best cake I have ever made. It turned out well and was easy to make! It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2000
fun to make and fun to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2000
This is a wonderful recipe! I highly recommend it---the best spice cake I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2000
The frosting on this cake is absolutely incredible!! The cake could use a little more spice, but overall it's terrific...I would suggest this to anyone! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-98 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States